Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

For Release: Wednesday, March 30, 2022

DEC Encourages Public Comment on Draft Unit Management Plan for St. Lawrence Rock Ridge

Public Comment Period and Online Survey Open through April 30

The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) today announced that the draft Unit Management Plan (UMP) for St. Lawrence Rock Ridge is out for public comment through April 30. The 21,575-acre St. Lawrence Rock Ridge planning unit is located in southwestern St. Lawrence County towns of DeKalb, Depeyster, Edwards, Fowler, Gouverneur, Hammond, Hermon, Macomb, Pitcairn, and Rossie, and in the northeastern Lewis County town of Diana.

The unit consists of 15 State Forests-Beaver Creek, Bonner Lake, California Road, Cold Spring Brook, Fire-Fall, Greenwood Creek, Hickory Lake, Lonesome Bay, Pleasant Lake, South Hammond, Stammer Creek, Toothaker Creek, Trout Lake, Wolf Lake, and Yellow Lake-and nine detached Forest Preserve parcels. The draft UMP proposes several new recreational features, including seven hiking trails, six lean-tos, five campsites, four informational kiosks, and new and improved trails for the Motorized Access Program for People with Disabilities (MAPPWD). Additionally, the plan focuses on increased invasive species management and continued sustainable forest management throughout the unit.

A virtual presentation and complete copy of the draft UMP are available on the DEC website. An online survey to accept public comments is available on the St. Lawrence Rock Ridge Draft UMP Public Survey website (leaves DEC website). Comments can be submitted by mail to Tony Sparacino, Forester, DEC Potsdam Sub-Office, 190 Outer Main St, Suite 103, Potsdam, NY 13676, or by email to

  • Contact for this Page
  • Nance Arquiett
    317 Washington Street
    Watertown, NY 13601
    email us
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to Region 6