Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

For Release: Thursday, September 16, 2021

DEC Releases Final Unit Management Plan for St. Lawrence Foothills

The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) today announced the finalization of the St. Lawrence Foothills Unit Management Plan (UMP).

The St. Lawrence Foothills Unit is located outside of the Adirondack Park in the central portion of St. Lawrence County, including the towns of Colton, Hopkinton, Parishville, Potsdam, Pierrepont, and Russell.

The unit includes 13 State Forests containing more than 16,000 acres, including Catherineville, Crary Mills, Degrasse, Downerville, Glenmeal, High Flats, Orebed Creek, Silver Hill, Snow Bowl, Taylor Creek, West Parishville, Whippoorwill Corners, and Whiskey Flats.

State Forests in this unit are managed for water quality protection, recreation, wildlife habitat, and timber.

The UMP will help provide healthy, sustainable, and biologically diverse ecosystems by using the principles of ecosystem management. In addition, the St. Lawrence Foothills UMP will provide forest-based recreational opportunities, economic benefits for local communities, and sound stewardship of State Forests by protecting cultural and natural resources.

The UMP schedules nearly 5,000 acres of forest product sales, which are used to help accomplish ecosystem management goals, over the next 10 years. The UMP proposes enhancements to recreational opportunities in the St. Lawrence Foothills unit by improving existing facilities and creating new opportunities.

The UMP proposes a new foot bridge across the Grass River in Downerville State Forest to expand recreational opportunities, installation of new parking areas, informational kiosks, recreational trails, and lean-tos. The UMP also includes plans for upgrading canoe launches, campsites, and access roads.

The UMP for St. Lawrence Foothills can be viewed on the DEC website.

  • Contact for this Page
  • Andrea C. Pedrick
    317 Washington Street
    Watertown, NY 13601
    email us
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to Region 6