Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

For Release: Friday, March 13, 2020

DEC to Host School-Based, Statewide Archery Tournament in 2020

Hundreds of Students from 39 Schools to Participate in DEC's "Archery in Schools" Competition

The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) announced today that the agency will host a statewide, school-based National Archery in the Schools Program (NASP) tournament for all schools signed up for this year's event. The 12th Annual Archery in the Schools statewide tournament was originally scheduled for March 20, at the State Fairgrounds in Syracuse. The tournament recognizes students' diligence and focus in the practice of target archery. Winners of the state competition will qualify for the national tournament to be held this spring.

DEC has previously hosted school-based state tournaments when live tournaments were not possible. The 675 students currently registered for this year's tournament will compete from their home schools in one of three divisions: High School, grades 9-12; Middle School, grades 6-8; and Elementary School, grades 4-5. Participating students will mail their DEC-provided scorecards to DEC no later than March 23. Winners will be announced in March.

Awards will be distributed in each of the three divisions for 1st through 10th places. As a national qualifying event, individuals who place in the Top 10 in their division, and teams that place first in each of the three divisions, qualify to compete and represent New York State at the NASP national tournament in Louisville, Kentucky, in May.

More than four million students at 8,500 schools in 47 states and five countries have participated in NASP. Since New York implemented NASP in 2008, more than 400 schools and 41,000 students have participated. Last year's state competition drew 542 students from 32 school districts across New York. A brief video of the 2018 tournament can be viewed on DEC's YouTube page.

For details about the virtual tournament and more information on how schools can become involved, visit DEC's website. To learn more about the National Archery in the Schools Program, (link leaves DEC's website) visit NASP's webpage.

A list of participating schools by county:

Allegany County
Canaseraga Central School
Genesee Valley Central School
Fillmore Elementary School
Fillmore High School

Cattaraugus County
Hinsdale Central School District
Salamanca City School-Seneca Intermediate
Salamanca High School

Chenango County
Norwich Middle School
Norwich High School

Columbia County
New Lebanon Jr./Sr. High School

Delaware County
Deposit Central School

Erie County
Grand Island High School
Holland Middle School
Holland High School

Essex County
Schroon Lake Central School District

Franklin County
Tupper Lake Middle-High School

Fulton County
Mayfield Junior/Senior High School

Herkimer County
Mohawk Valley Christian Academy

Lewis County
Glenfield Elementary School
Harrisville Central School
Port Leyden Elementary School
South Lewis High School

Livingston County
Livonia Middle/High School

Madison County
Madison Central School District

Oneida County
Rome Free Academy
Staley Upper Elementary School
Strough Middle School

Onondaga County
Fabius Pompey Middle-High School
Liverpool Middle School

Ontario County
Bloomfield Middle-High School
Honeoye Central School District

Oswego County
Altmar Parish Williamstown

Richmond County
Notre Dame Academy High School
St. Joseph By the Sea High School

Schenectady County
Central Park Middle School

Steuben County
Arkport Central School

Tioga County
North Spencer Christian Academy

Ulster County
New Paltz High School

Warren County
Johnsburg Central School District

  • Contact for this Page
  • Press Office - Maureen Wren
    625 Broadway
    Albany, NY 12233-1016
    email us
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions