Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

For Release: Friday, January 31, 2020

DEC Issues Final Management Plan for Mohawk Vista

Public Can View the Final Documents Online

The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) announced today that it has finalized the Unit Management Plan (UMP) for Mohawk Vista. The plan will set the course for the management of state properties in southern Oneida and Herkimer counties.

"This UMP will provide a healthy, sustainable, and biologically diverse forest that will accommodate many different uses that benefit the people of the State," said Randall Young, DEC Region 6 Director.

Mohawk Vista covers 5,834 acres in five state Forests in the towns of Bridgewater, Marshall, and Sangerfield in Oneida County and the towns of Columbia, Frankfort, German Flats, Herkimer, Schuyler, Stark, and Warren in Herkimer County. The state Forests are A.J. Woodford Memorial, Steuben Hill, Mt. Hunger, Ohissa, and Otsquago, as well as five detached parcels of Forest Preserve.

  • On A.J. Woodford State Forest, the UMP establishes approximately 13 miles of mountain bike trails and rehabilitation of two wildlife ponds to provide wildlife habitat, wildlife observation, and fishing opportunities.
  • On Mt. Hunger State Forest, the UMP calls for major improvements to Whalen Road and Whalen Road Extension to provide three-season motor vehicle access and improvements for motor vehicle use for persons with mobility impairments.

DEC-managed state Forests continue to maintain the mark of sustainable forestry through Forest Stewardship Council® (FSC®) and meet the certification standards of the Sustainable Forestry Initiative® (SFI®). DEC is part of a growing number of public, industrial, and private forest land owners throughout the U.S. and the world whose forests are certified as sustainably managed. DEC's state Forests can also be counted as part of a growing number of working forest land in New York that is third-party certified, as well as managed to protect habitat, cultural resources, water, recreation, and economic values, now and for future generations. The final UMP for Mohawk Vista is available on DEC's website.

DEC Region 6 covers St. Lawrence, Jefferson, Lewis, Oneida, and Herkimer counties.

  • Contact for this Page
  • Andrea C. Pedrick
    317 Washington Street
    Watertown, NY 13601
    email us
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to Region 6