Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

For Release: Friday, April 5, 2019

DEC is Asking for Public Input on the 46 Corners UMP

Public Comments Accepted Until June 5th

The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) today announced it will update the 46 Corners Unit Management Plan (UMP) and is asking the public to comment and make suggestions before potential updates are made.

The 46 Corners Unit includes eight State Forests (Big Brook, Cobb Brook, Fall Brook, Florence Hill, Furnace Creek, Mad River, Swancott Hill, and Tri-County) totaling approximately 18,042 acres of public land. These lands are in the towns of Annsville, Camden, Florence, Lewis, and Redfield, located in Oneida, Lewis, and Oswego counties.

UMPs are used to make long-term sustainable management decisions and are updated every 10 years. The 46 Corners UMP was last updated in 2013.

DEC will accept public input on the 46 Corners UMP beginning April 5, 2019. Comments can be emailed to; mailed to Chelsea Sheridan, Senior Forester, 225 North Main Street, Herkimer, NY 13350; or call (315) 866-6330. All comments must be received by June 5, 2019. DEC will then present a revised draft UMP for public review and comment at a later date.

  • Contact for this Page
  • Andrea C. Pedrick
    317 Washington Street
    Watertown, NY 13601
    email us
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to Region 6