Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

For Release: Monday, August 14, 2017

DEC Accepting Applications for Sponsored Pheasant Hunt Program

Applications for Cooperative Program due by September 1

The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) today announced the start of the application period to hold a DEC-Sponsored Pheasant Hunts. This program enables experienced hunters and others to obtain state-reared pheasants for use in sponsored hunts for youth, women, novices, veterans, and people with disabilities.

The Reynolds Game Farm raises an additional 2,000 pheasants annually to be used in sponsored hunts across New York State. DEC's partnership with local sportsmen and sportswomen provides youth, novices, people with disabilities, and veterans an opportunity to experience pheasant hunting in a controlled setting alongside experienced hunters. In addition, the sponsored pheasant hunt program gives experienced hunters a chance to share their knowledge with a new generation of hunters.

Those interested in obtaining an application to hold a sponsored pheasant hunt can contact the local DEC regional office for an application (a list of DEC regional offices is provided below). Program requirements and applications can be downloaded from DEC's website.

Applications must be received by the regional wildlife office no later than September 1. Successful applicants will be notified via phone. If an application has been accepted, the applicant will be required to make arrangements with the Reynolds Game Farm located in Ithaca, NY, to coordinate a delivery time, date, and location.

R1 - Nassau and Suffolk counties:

SUNY at Stony Brook
50 Circle Road
Stony Brook, NY 11790
(631) 444-0310

R3 - Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester counties:

21 South Putt Corners Rd.
New Paltz, NY 12561
(845) 256-3098

R4 - Albany, Columbia, Delaware, Greene, Montgomery, Otsego, Rensselaer, Schenectady and Schoharie counties:

65561 State Hwy 10, Suite 1
Stamford, NY 12167
(607) 652-7367

R5 - Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Saratoga, Warren and Washington counties:

1115 Route 86, PO Box 296
Ray Brook, NY 12977
(518) 897-1291

R6 - Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Oneida and St. Lawrence counties:

317 Washington Street
Watertown, NY 13601

R7 - Broome, Cayuga, Chenango, Cortland, Madison, Onondaga, Oswego, Tioga and Tompkins counties:

1285 Fisher Ave.
Cortland, NY 13045
(607) 753-3095 x 247

R8 - Chemung, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne and Yates counties:

6274 East Avon-Lima Rd.
Avon, NY 14414
(585) 226-5380

R9 - Allegany, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, Erie, Niagara and Wyoming counties:

182 East Union, Suite 3
Allegany, NY 14706-1328
(716) 372-0645

  • Contact for this Page
  • Press Office - Lori Severino
    625 Broadway
    Albany, NY 12233-1016
    email us
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions