Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

For Release: Friday, April 14, 2017

DEC Closes Trails and Roads on DEC Lands

Seasonal Access Roads and Associated Gates to be Closed Immediately

Effective April 14, 2017, the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) Region 6 is closing mud gates to trails and seasonal access roads on Forest Preserve, State Forest, and Conservation Easement Lands due to spring thaw. Motor vehicle use during the spring mud season will damage roads and result in road opening delays. DEC will reopen the roads once any necessary maintenance is completed and the roads are dry enough to safely handle motor vehicle traffic. Region 6 is comprised of Jefferson, Lewis, St. Lawrence, Herkimer and Oneida Counties.

Current list of gate closures:
Lewis County: East Branch of Fish Creek South Conservation Easement: South end of Camp Four Road, Michigan Mills Extension Road and both ends of the North-South Road.
Independence River Wild Forest: Mt. Tom Trail Gates including 10 Mile Road and Stony Lake Road, Smith Road, and Pine Lake Trail.
Herkimer County: Independence River Wild Forest: Basket Factory Road, and McCarthy Road and all Big Moose Tract Conservation Easement.

  • Contact for this Page
  • Andrea C. Pedrick
    317 Washington Street
    Watertown, NY 13601
    email us
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to Region 6