Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

For Release: Friday, March 31, 2017

DEC Closes Trails and Roads on DEC Lands in Region 6

Seasonal Access Roads and Associated Gates to be Closed Immediately

Effective Friday, March 31, 2017, the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) Region 6 is closing mud gates to trails and seasonal access roads on Forest Preserve, State Forest, and Conservation Easement Lands due to spring thaw. Motor vehicle use during the spring mud season will damage roads and result in road opening delays. DEC will reopen the roads once any necessary maintenance is completed and the roads are dry enough to safely handle motor vehicle traffic. Region 6 is comprised of Jefferson, Lewis, St. Lawrence, Herkimer and Oneida Counties.

Current List of Gate Closures:

Watson's East Triangle Wild Forest
Oswegatchie Conservation Easement
Croghan Conservation Easement
Independence River Wild Forest
Bear Pond Road
Bald Mountain Road
Bryants Bridge Canoe Access
All Croghan Tract Easement gates, including Main Haul Road
Boonville - Sand Flats State Forest
Beech Flats snowmobile trail
South end of Loop Road
Pine Lakes Trail
All St. Lawrence County Trails

  • Contact for this Page
  • Andrea C. Pedrick
    317 Washington Street
    Watertown, NY 13601
    email us
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to Region 6