Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Regional Environmental Permits Information

The Division of Environmental Permits manages a group of environmental permits known as the Uniform Procedures Act (UPA) permits. These permits, under the Uniform Procedures Act or UPA, protect New York's air, water, minerals, and biological resources.

The Division's Regional Permit Administrator and staff serve as the single point of contact for your environmental permits, help you understand the regulatory requirements for your project, and manage the permitting process.

Contact the Regional Permit Administrator for permit application assistance, including:

  • Pre-application meetings to discuss the application procedure and project information requirements. This is highly recommended for multi-residential developments; and commercial or industrial projects.
  • Referrals to DEC regulations, policies, guidance and resource information for preparing permit applications and meeting environmental analysis requirements.
  • Identification of specific DEC permitting jurisdictions for proposed projects based on site development as well as operational aspects of the projects.
  • Screening potential project sites for the presence of regulated resources and other environmental and cultural resources.

The Regional Permit Administrator will:

  • Conduct comprehensive environmental analyses and assure timely and consistent permit decisions which balance environmental protection with social and environmental considerations.
  • Coordinate review of projects with other state and local agencies requiring approvals.

More about Regional Environmental Permits Information:

  • Region 3 Environmental Permits - permit assistance for the Lower Hudson Valley, including Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester counties.
  • Region 4 Environmental Permits - permit assistance for the Capital Region, including Albany, Columbia, Delaware, Greene, Montgomery, Otsego, Rensselaer, Schenectady and Schoharie counties.
  • Region 5 Environmental Permits - permit assistance for the Eastern Adirondacks/Lake Champlain, including Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Saratoga, Warren and Washington counties.
  • Region 6 Environmental Permits - permit assistance for the Western Adirondacks/Eastern Lake Ontario area, including Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Oneida and St. Lawrence counties.
  • Region 7 Environmental Permits - permit assistance for Central New York, including Broome, Cayuga, Chenango, Cortland, Madison, Onondaga, Oswego, Tioga and Tompkins counties.
  • Region 8 Environmental Permits - permit assistance for the Western Finger Lakes region, including Chemung, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne and Yates counties.
  • Region 9 Environmental Permits - permit assistance for Western New York, including Allegany, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, Erie, Niagara and Wyoming counties.
  • Contact for this Page
    Division of Environmental Permits
    4th Floor
    625 Broadway
    Albany, NY 12233-1750
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions