Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Fishing Preserve License

License Details

This license authorizes an individual to operate a commercial fishing facility on a privately-owned artificial or man-made waterbody of any size.


The fee for this license is $50.


The duration of this license is 1 year (from January 1 to December 31).

What This License Allows:

  • Stocking and rearing fish in the licensed artificial or man-made waterbody.
  • Having others fish on the preserve without a valid NYS fishing license.
  • Charging others to fish on the preserve.
  • Selling fish taken from the preserve.

What This License Does Not Allow:

  • Stocking fish into a natural body of water such as streams and ponds, or waters impounded by damming of natural streams. (Requires a Stocking Permit)

Other Pertinent Information

  • Posting Signs: Must have appropriate land posting signs to mark the boundaries of the preserve as specified in ECL 11-2111 (link available below)
  • Fish Health Certification Report: Prior to stocking fish or selling fish for stocking the licensee must have a valid fish health certification report to indicate that the fish are free of diseases. More details can be found in the regulations link below (Part 188: Fish Health Inspections).
  • Requirements to transport and sell black bass

How to Apply

  1. Have a copy of a map showing the location/pond(s) to be licensed. (Example maps: topographic, road/highway, internet/Google, etc.)
  2. Complete and submit the Fishing Preserve License Application (PDF)

Renewing & Reporting

License Renewal

Licenses expire on December 31 each year. A renewal form will be sent by mail prior to the license expiration date noted on the license. If a license renewal form is not received at least 2-weeks prior to the expiration date, please contact us.

Annual Reporting

Complete the Annual Report and Continuous Record of Operations Form (PDF). Forms do not need to be submitted to DEC and may be kept on the licensed premises.

Carcass Identification Form

A Carcass Identification Form (PDF) is required to complete when any of the following fish or carcass(es) leave the licensed premises:

  • Black bass
  • All trout and lake trout
  • Landlocked Atlantic salmon
  • Muskellunge
  • Pike
  • Pickerel
  • Walleye

Laws & Regulations

Environmental Conservation Law (ECL)

Please visit New York State Legislature Website (Leaves DEC website)

  • 11-1913: Fishing Preserves
  • 11-2111: Posting; Service of Notice

New York Codes Rules and Regulations (NYCRR)

Contact Information

DEC Special Licenses Unit
625 Broadway, Albany NY 12233
(518) 402-8985

Additional Resources and Information

Commercial Fish Hatcheries - list of licensed fish hatcheries from which fish can be purchased.

Other Related or Similar Licenses

Farm Fish Pond License: authorizes an individual to stock fish in privately owned man-made ponds 10 acres or smaller in size.

  • PDF Help
  • For help with PDFs on this page, please call 518-402-8985.
  • Contact for this Page
  • NYSDEC Fish and Wildlife
    625 Broadway
    Albany, NY 12233-4752
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions