Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Shellfish Digger Permit and Shellfish Digger Endorsement

Shellfish Harvester Certification Training

DEC implemented a new online Shellfish Harvester Certification Training which replaces the previous harvester training certification that has expired for all existing shellfish digger permit holders. Permit holders must complete the training to meet compliance requirements under the National Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP) (leaves DEC website). The goal of the training is to ensure all New York State shellfish harvesters are informed of current sanitary control measures in place for shellfish harvested and sold as food.

A Shellfish Digger Permit will not be issued if you fail to complete the training prior to submitting your renewal application.

For questions about the training contact: DiggerTraining@dec.ny.gov or call 631-444-0489.

Shellfish Digger Permit

Allows permit holder to harvest, cull, sort or tag clams, oysters, mussels, and scallops taken from certified or open waters for commercial purposes.

License Details

Fee
  • Residents: $50
  • Non-residents: $150
Age Requirement

Applicants 16 years old or under must have application signed and notarized by parent or legal guardian.

Permit Duration

Permit expires December 31 each year.

How to Apply

Residents
Non-residents

License Renewal

A renewal form will be sent by mail prior to the permit expiration date. If a license renewal form is not received at least 2 weeks prior to the expiration date, please contact us at the address or number below.

Reporting and Recordkeeping

Permit holder must maintain complete and accurate records of all shellfish transactions.

Shellfish Digger Vessel Endorsement

Allows a Shellfish Digger Permit Holder to endorse his or her permit to a single vessel which covers all people on board the vessel while harvesting, culling, sorting, or tagging hard clams and oysters.

License Details

Fee
  • 40 feet or less: $50
  • Greater than 40 feet: $100
Age Requirement

Applicants 16 years old or under must have application signed and notarized by parent or legal guardian.

Permit Duration

Permit expires December 31 each year.

How to Apply

An online application is available for you to complete and submit:

Be sure to include copies of your valid vessel state registration or US Coast Guard Vessel Certificate of Documentation for the vessel identified on the endorsement.

License Renewal

A renewal form will be sent by mail prior to the permit expiration date. If a license renewal form is not received at least 2 weeks prior to the expiration date, please contact us at the address or number below.

Reporting or Recordkeeping
  • The holder of the endorsed shellfish digger permit must fulfill all recordkeeping requirements required for shellfish diggers permit holders.
  • The holder of the endorsed digger permit must maintain a daily log of the names and addresses of individuals covered by the endorsed permit for each day the vessel is used to take hard clams and oysters.

Laws and Regulations

New York Codes Rules and Regulations (NYCRR)

  • Part 41: Sanitary Condition of Shellfish Lands
  • Part 42: Sanitary Control Over Shellfish

Environmental Conservation Law (ECL)