Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Wildlife Management Units

Wildlife Management Units (WMUs) are the geographical units DEC uses to set hunting and trapping seasons in New York State. Wherever possible, the boundaries between units were placed on County or State Highways or large streams or rivers making them clearly identifiable on the ground. In the few cases where this was not possible, or for legal reasons, political boundaries (e.g., county boundaries) had to be used. The map below shows the general location of the WMUs. Legal descriptions of each unit boundary can be found under 6 CRR-NY 4.1 of the Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York (link leaves DEC website). You can also print or download a map depicting WMU and town boundaries (PDF, 1.2 MB).

Now you can view Wildlife Management Units in Google Earth! Go to the DEC's Google Earth page to find the WMU map data. This will allow you to view Google Earth's road and topography data along with our WMU boundaries. Get a detailed view of your hunting area, access, and exact boundaries of WMUs.

Finally, there is an interactive mapping application on our website which shows the WMU boundary lines and the local roads. This application can be very useful in determining the exact location of the unit lines in the areas where you will be hunting or trapping.

Wildlife Management Unit map for New York State

Wildlife Management Units:

Region 1: 1A, 1C

Region 2: 2A

Region 3: 3A, 3C, 3F, 3G, 3H, 3J, 3K, 3M, 3N, 3P, 3R, 3S

Region 4: 4A, 4B, 4C, 4F, 4G, 4H, 4J, 4K, 4L, 4O, 4P, 4R, 4S, 4T, 4U, 4W, 4Y, 4Z

Region 5: 5A, 5C, 5F, 5G, 5H, 5J, 5R, 5S, 5T

Region 6: 6A, 6C, 6F, 6G, 6H, 6J, 6K, 6N, 6P, 6R, 6S

Region 7: 7A, 7F, 7H, 7J, 7M, 7P, 7R, 7S

Region 8: 8A, 8C, 8F, 8G, 8H, 8J, 8M, 8N, 8P, 8R, 8S, 8T, 8W, 8X, 8Y

Region 9: 9A, 9C, 9F, 9G, 9H, 9J, 9K, 9M, 9N, 9P, 9R, 9S, 9T, 9W, 9X, 9Y

More about Wildlife Management Units:

  • WMU Revisions 2009-10 - DEC has amended boundaries of wildlife management units (WMUs) to meet game species management needs. Read how the changes will result in changes to game species seasons (both trapping and hunting) incidental to the WMU boundary changes.
  • Contact for this Page
    Bureau of Wildlife
    625 Broadway
    Albany, NY 12233-4755
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions