Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Western New York - Region 9

Map of counties in Region 9

Facilities in the list below include State Parks which are managed by NYS Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation (OPRHP). Click on each link for details on the recreational opportunities available for each site.

universally accessible symbol

Learn more about accessible recreation on DEC lands.

Due to strong winds and heavy, wet snow that broke off branches and collapsed trees throughout Western New York, many of the roads on State Forest Lands and Wildlife Management Areas in Region 9 will not be passable by motorized vehicle until late April. Now that the deep snow has melted, field crews will work to open the roads, focusing on those that traditionally receive the most use. DEC staff recommend that the public check on access to their preferred areas or contact their local DEC office before making plans. DEC manages over 100,0000 acres of state land in Region 9.

Allegany County

Cattaraugus County

Chautauqua County

Erie County

Niagara County

Wyoming County