Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Aquaculture Permits

On/Off-Bottom Culture Permit

Allows permit holder to purchase and possess, from within or without the state, marine plant and animal life authorized by the permit, including but not limited to shellfish, lobster, crab, shrimp, and fish, of legal and less than legal size for purposes of on-bottom and off-bottom culture only. The permit holder is also authorized to sell such marine animal and plant life of legal and less than legal size, to individual or commercial markets for consumption or resale, subject to department rules and regulations.

In addition to department approval of the permit application, the permit can only be issued to applicants who can demonstrate they have obtained any other necessary permits or licenses required under any state or federal law, and the written authorization of the person or political subdivision having title or legal control of the underwater lands on or above which such on-bottom culture shall take place.

Fee: $100
Age Requirement: None, though related or similar permits may have an age requirement.
Permit Duration: Permit expires December 31 each year.

How to Apply
  • Review instructions and complete application: On/Off Bottom Culture Application (PDF)
  • Be sure to sign and date on all required documents and include the permit fee.
  • Submit the completed application by mail or in-person to:
    NYSDEC Shellfish Management Unit, 123 Kings Park Blvd., Kings Park, NY 11754
Reporting Requirements

Permit holder must submit a completed New York State Cultured Shellfish Landings and Activity Report Form (PDF) to DEC monthly, including for months in which no landings or other activities occurred. For months in which landings and/or other activities did occur, the permit holder shall report landings, receipt and distribution of all cultured shellfish.

Review Cultured Shellfish Landings and Activity Report Instructions (PDF) for complete details. Submit monthly reports to: shellfishlandings@dec.ny.gov or by mail to DEC Division of Marine Resources, Shellfish Management, 123 Kings Park Blvd., Kings Park, NY 11754

Permit Renewal

A renewal form will be sent by mail prior to the permit expiration date. If a permit renewal form is not received at least two-weeks prior to the expiration date, please contact us.

Marine Hatchery Permit

Allows permit holder to possess, raise and breed marine plant and animal life, including but not limited to shellfish, lobster, crab, shrimp and food fish in a shore-based facility. Also allows permit holder to sell hatchery products of less than legal size or legal size to persons or entities holding valid permits to culture these products further elsewhere, and to individual or commercial markets for consumption or resale subject to department rules and regulations.

Fee: $100
Age Requirement: Applicants 16 years old or under must have application signed and notarized by parent or legal guardian.
Permit Duration: Permit expires December 31 each year.

How to Apply

  • Complete application (request application from Shellfish Management Unit)
  • Submit the completed application by mail or in-person to:
    NYSDEC Shellfish Management Unit, 123 Kings Park Blvd., Kings Park, NY 11754
Reporting Requirement

Shellfish

Permit holders must submit a completed New York State Cultured Shellfish Landings and Activity Report Form (PDF) to DEC monthly, including for months in which no activities occurred. or other activities occurred. For months in which activities did occur, the permit holder shall report all receipt/purchases and distribution of all shellfish seed.

Review Cultured Shellfish Landings and Activity Report Instructions (PDF) for complete details. Submit monthly reports to: shellfishlandings@dec.ny.gov or by mail to DEC Division of Marine Resources, Shellfish Management, 123 Kings Park Blvd., Kings Park, NY 11754

Other Species (such as finfish, crustaceans, seaweed)

Permit holders must submit a completed species specific report form that will be provided when the permit is issued to DEC monthly, including for months in which no landings or other activities occurred. For months in which activities did occur, the permit holder shall report all receipt/purchases and distribution of cultured products.

Permit Renewal

A renewal form will be sent by mail prior to the permit expiration date. If a license renewal form is not received at least two-weeks prior to the expiration date, please contact us by email or call the Marine Permit Office at 631-444-0470.

Laws & Regulations

New York Codes Rules and Regulations (NYCRR)

Environmental Conservation Law (ECL)


  • Contact for this Page
  • Division of Marine Resources
    123 Kings Park Blvd.
    (Nissequogue River State Park)
    Kings Park, New York 11754
    631-444-0489
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to NYS Marine Costal District