Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Food Fish and Crustacea Dealers and Shippers License

The Food Fish and Crustacea (FF&C) Dealers and Shippers License allows the license holder (or employees of the license holder) to:

  • purchase and resell, trade or barter marine fish or crustaceans as food or bait;
  • operate a facility for packing, holding or storing marine fish or crustaceans prior to consignment, transport or sale;
  • ship, transport or traffic in marine fish or crustaceans for resale, trade or barter to persons other than the final consumer within the state;
  • export food fish or crustacea landed in New York to outside the state.

License Details

Fee License Duration Age Requirement
$250.00 Expires December 31
of each year.
Applicants 16 years old or under must have application
signed and notarized by parent or legal guardian.

How to Apply

  • You may contact the Marine Permit Office and request an application be mailed to you.
  • An online application (PDF) is also available for download.
  • Complete the application and submit it and the license fee to the Marine Permit Office at the address below.

Renewing & Reporting

License Renewal

A renewal application will be sent by mail prior to the permit expiration date. If a license renewal form is not received at least 2 weeks prior to the expiration date, please contact us at the address or number below.

Annual Reporting

Effective January 1, 2012, state regulations require dealer reports to be submitted electronically on the Atlantic Coastal Cooperative Statistics Program (ACCSP) reporting system, known as SAFIS.

  • NYSDEC Data Management Unit will assist New York State seafood dealers with meeting this requirement by providing training and technical support, including helping dealers set up their initial user accounts.
    • If you need assistance entering dealer reports or enrolling in the ACCSP reporting system, please contact NYSDEC at 631-444-0849.
    • If you already have a user ID and password, visit the ACCSP Data Warehouse login page (link leaves DEC website).
  • All FF&C Dealers and Shippers must annually complete and return a Reporting Status Form (PDF). This form satisfies the New York State reporting requirements for dealers who hold federal dealers permits and report to NMFS and for state dealers who do not make purchases directly from fishermen. All other FF&C dealers must submit weekly reports.
  • State licensed FF&C dealers are required to submit reports of all purchases of food fish, crustacea, horseshoe crabs and whelk from fishermen and harvesters landing in New York. Reports must be submitted weekly, by Tuesday of the following week, and a separate report must be submitted for each harvester purchase. If no purchases are made during a given week, a report must still be submitted stating that no purchases were made.

Only direct purchases from fishing vessels and harvesters landing in New York State are required to be reported. Please note the following exceptions to the state's weekly dealer reporting requirement:

  • If you are a licensed dealer and do not purchase seafood products directly from fishing vessels or harvesters (e.g., only purchase from other dealers), you can register as a secondary dealer. Weekly reporting is not required by secondary dealers. However, any direct purchases from fishing vessels or harvesters will still require a report. If the DEC determines that regular direct purchases are made from fishing vessels or harvesters, the dealer will be notified to submit weekly reports.
  • Licensed New York dealers who also hold a federal dealers permit issued by NOAA must satisfy their federal reporting requirements. Once the DEC Marine Commercial Fisheries Unit has been notified that a dealer holds a valid federal dealer permit (link leaves DEC website) and is reporting federally, compliance with NOAA reporting requirements will be considered compliance with state reporting requirements. Federally licensed dealers reporting to NOAA Fisheries should not report direct purchases from vessels or harvesters to the state reporting system unless specifically requested to do so.
  • More information about New York State dealer reporting requirements can be found in Part 40.1(c) of 6 NYCRR (link leaves DEC website). If you have additional questions or comments about dealer reporting requirements, please contact the DEC Marine Commercial Fisheries Unit at commercial.fisheries@dec.ny.gov, 631-444-0482 or 631-444-5621.

Laws & Regulations

New York Codes Rules and Regulations (NYCRR)

Part 40: Marine Fish (link leaves DEC website)

Environmental Conservation Law (ECL)

To find a law click on the link, click on ENV, find Article 13, click on the appropriate law.

13-0334 Food fish and Crustacea Dealers and Shippers License (link leaves DEC's website)

Harvest Limits

Commercial harvest limits for quota managed Species can be found at: Commercial Fishing Limits Quota Managed Species

Quota managed species include:

  • Summer Flounder (Fluke)
  • Scup (Porgy)
  • Black Sea Bass
  • Striped Bass
  • Bluefish
  • Spiny Dogfish
  • Horseshoe Crab
  • Menhaden (Bunker)

Commercial harvest limits for all food fish are available at: Commercial Fishing Regulations (link leaves DEC website)

Contact Information

Marine Permit Office - Division of Marine Resources
205 North Belle Mead Road, Suite 1
East Setauket, New York 11733
Phone: 631-444-0470
Email: MPO@dec.ny.gov

Other Information and Similar Licenses


  • Important Links
  • PDF Help
  • For help with PDFs on this page, please call 631-444-0470.
  • Contact for this Page
  • Marine Permit Office
    Division of Marine Resources
    205 North Belle Mead Rd, Suite 1
    East Setauket, NY 11733
    631-444-0470
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to NYS Marine Costal District