Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Winona Unit Management Plan

The Winona planning unit consists of one state forest located on boundary of southern Jefferson County and northern Oswego County. The state forest land totals of 9233 acres in the towns of Lorraine, Ellisburg and Boylston. It is east of interstate #81, west of Littlejohn Wildlife Management Area and is on the western edge of the Tug Hill Plateau.

This state forest offers many recreational opportunities, including: hiking, skiing, mountain biking, hunting, fishing, trapping, dog sledding, bird watching and horseback riding. The unit contains 22 miles of cross-country ski trails, 12 miles of snowmobile trails (some designated New York State Snowmobile Corridor Trails), 9.9 miles of forest access roads, and 3 large parking lots. Nearly two miles of forest access roads are posted as open to all terrain vehicles (ATV), providing a connection to established ATV trails to the north and south of the area.

How to provide input into the plan:

The UMP has been finalized. Any person or group who has questions or comments on this unit, its management or about future updates to the UMP can mail Senior Forester Ed Sykes at NYSDEC, 7327 State Route 812, Lowville, NY, 13367 or e-mail Region 6 UMP mail box.

Downloadable Documents

Winona State Forest Unit Management Plan (PDF) (3.27 MB)

  • Important Links
  • PDF Help
  • For help with PDFs on this page, please call 315-376-3521.
  • Contact for this Page
    7327 State Rt 812
    Lowville, NY 13367
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to Region 6