Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Eastern Lake Ontario Unit Management Plan

The Eastern Lake Ontario Unit is located in the Oswego County towns of Albion, Boylston, Orwell, Richland and Sandy Creek. The Unit includes the Altmar, Chateaugay, Sandy Creek, and Trout Brook State Forests, conservation easement lands, and portions of the recently acquired National Grid lands (totaling 6,126 acres).

The draft plan was developed to address both short- and long-term land management opportunities, challenges and needs in these State Forests. Community-based forestry is a participatory approach to forest management that seeks to strengthen the relationship between local residents and nearby forest resources.

DEC accepted public comment and input on the draft plan for 60 days, until October 2, 2017. Input gathered at the public meetings and by mail and email are being used to finalize the Eastern Lake Ontario Unit Management Plan. The UMP will guide management actions for the Unit to help achieve the goals of providing healthy, sustainable and biologically diverse forest ecosystems.

Eastern Lake Ontario Draft Unit Management Plan

Eastern Lake Ontario Draft Unit Management Plan (5.1 MB, 164 pages)