Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

DEC Regulated CEHA Communities

If you live within one of the 44 DEC regulated communities, listed in the table below, contact your local DEC permit administrator to apply for a permit. Please refer to the list of activities that are regulated within the CEHA and the list of activities that are unregulated within the CEHA.

If your community is not listed in the table below, your community may be a DEC certified CEHA program.

DEC Regulated CEHA Communities
DEC Region County Community Name*
1 Nassau Centre Island (V)
1 Nassau Long Beach (C)
1 Nassau Oyster Bay (T)
1 Suffolk East Hampton (T)
1 Suffolk Islip (T)
1 Suffolk Nissequogue (V)
1 Suffolk Shelter Island (T)
1 Suffolk Smithtown (T)
2 Kings Brooklyn (B)
2 Queens Queens (B)
2 Richmond Staten Island (B)
3 Westchester Larchmont (V)
3 Westchester Mamaroneck (T)
3 Westchester Mamaroneck (V)
3 Westchester Rye (C)
7 Cayuga Fair Haven (V)
7 Oswego Mexico (T)
7 Oswego New Haven (T)
7 Oswego Oswego (T)
7 Oswego Richland (T)
7 Oswego Sandy Creek (T)
7 Oswego Scriba (T)
8 Monroe Irondequoit (T)
8 Monroe Parma (T)
8 Monroe Penfield (T)
8 Monroe Webster (T)
8 Orleans Carlton (T)
8 Wayne Ontario (T)
8 Wayne Sodus Point (V)
8 Wayne Williamson (T)
8 Wayne Wolcott (T)
9 Chautauqua Dunkirk (C)
9 Chautauqua Hanover (T)
9 Chautauqua Pomfret (T)
9 Chautauqua Portland (T)
9 Chautauqua Ripley (T)
9 Chautauqua Silver Creek (V)
9 Chautauqua Westfield (T)
9 Erie Brant (T)
9 Erie Evans (T)
9 Niagara Newfane (T)
9 Niagara Porter (T)
9 Niagara Somerset (T)
9 Niagara Wilson (V)

*V = Village; C = County; T= Town; B= Borough

  • PDF Help
  • For help with PDFs on this page, please call 518-402-8151.
  • Contact for this Page
    Division of Water
    Bureau of Flood Protection and Dam Safety
    625 Broadway
    Albany, NY 12233-3504
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions