Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner


Wetlands (swamps, marshes, bogs, and similar areas) are areas saturated by surface or ground water sufficient to support distinctive vegetation adapted for life in saturated soil conditions. Wetlands serve as natural habitat for many species of plants and animals and absorb the forces of flood and tidal erosion to prevent loss of upland soil.

In New York State, two main types of wetlands are the focus of protection: tidal wetlands around Long Island, New York City and up the Hudson River all the way to Troy Dam; and freshwater wetlands found on river and lake floodplains across the state.

This website provides information about:

  • The status of New York's tidal and freshwater wetlands, and trends in the extent of wetlands in the state
  • The state Freshwater Wetlands Act and how DEC regulates wetlands, including wetlands mapping
  • Wetlands conservation and restoration

More about Wetlands:

  • Tidal Wetlands - How DEC uses tidal wetlands maps to assess the condition of the resource; trends in New York's tidal wetlands
  • Freshwater Wetlands Program - A brief description of the New York State freshwater Wetlands Act and what it means to landowners. *Note: amendments were made in 2022. Click the "Freshwater Wetlands Program" link to read a brief summary.*
  • Freshwater Wetlands Mapping - Information on freshwater wetland mapping in New York State
  • Contact for this Page
  • Division of Fish, Wildlife and Marine Resources
    625 Broadway
    Albany, NY 12233-4756
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions