Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Community Action on Climate Change

Climate Smart Communities: A Network of Leaders

New York State currently has more than 270 Registered Climate Smart Communities and 24 Certified Climate Smart Communities. To view the certification reports for the Certified Climate Smart Communities, click on the map at the Climate Smart Communities website (leaves DEC website).

  • Silver Certified: Village of Dobbs Ferry; City of Kingston; Tompkins County; Ulster County
  • Bronze Certified: City of Albany; Town of Bethel; Town of Brighton; City of Canandaigua; Town of Cortlandt; Town of East Hampton; City of Geneva; City of Ithaca; Town of Ithaca; Madison County; Town of Mamaroneck; Village of Nyack; Orange County; City of Rochester; Schenectady County; Town of Southampton; Sullivan County; Town of Tusten; Town of Ulysses; City of Watervliet
    Sign up for DEC Delivers

    Enter email address:

Step One - Take the Climate Smart Communities pledge to join the program.

By taking the Climate Smart Communities pledge, your community expresses its commitment to taking action on climate change and is designated a Registered Climate Smart Community. Becoming a member of the Climate Smart Communities (CSC) program is free and voluntary; there are no fees or legal requirements.

Registered and Certified CSCs who apply for funding from the Climate Smart Communities Grant program receive more points in the scoring process compared to applicants who are not members of the CSC program. Participation also benefits your municipality through leadership recognition and access to technical assistance and other New York State resources. With support from regional coordinators, each community defines its own best strategies for cutting energy use, reducing emissions, and adapting to climate change. The CSC program is one of the few places where local governments can find free technical support that is tailored to the needs of New York State communities.

Take the CSC pledge and become part of this dedicated group of municipal leaders who have committed to the following objectives:

Person in a rain slicker next to a Rain Collection Barrel
  • Reduce greenhouse gas emissions (GHGs)
  • Save taxpayer dollars
  • Increase energy security and reliability
  • Build resiliency to the impacts of climate change
  • Advance community goals for public health and safety
  • Support a green innovation economy

Step Two - Move toward certification by reducing GHGs and taking action to protect your community.

The CSC Certification program helps organize and guide municipal action on climate change. The resources and priorities provided out the in certification program help your community design a customized strategy to address key local concerns.

For guidance on getting started with certification, visit (leaves DEC website).

The CSC Certification program recognizes more than 100 actions to choose from when your community works toward certification. A path to certification can come with economic benefits, improved emergency preparedness, expanded community participation, and the knowledge needed to allocate resources wisely.

The Office of Climate Change administers two funding programs for municipalities under Title 15 of the Environmental Protection Fund, "Climate Smart Community Projects." Funding is available from the Climate Smart Communities Grant Program for a variety of climate adaptation, mitigation and certification actions. Funding is also available through the Municipal Zero-emission Vehicle (ZEV) & ZEV Infrastructure Rebate Program for clean vehicles and for infrastructure to recharge or refuel clean vehicles.

More about Community Action on Climate Change: