MARINE BAIT PERMIT APPLICATION



This is an electronic copy of a Marine Bait Permit application package.

Your signature and the date are needed in TWO place:

- 1. Marine Bait Permit Form Page 2
- 2. Affirmation Page 4

The following are needed for the successful processing of your application:

- Completely fill out all the requested information on the application.
 - If you are using a post office box to receive mail, please include a legal address (street address) with your application or it will be returned.
- The application Affirmation must be signed and dated.
- **Permit Fee:** ALL applications submitted by mail must be paid by check or money order payable to NYSDEC. Starter checks and credit cards are not accepted. Cash is accepted for in-person applicants.
 - There will be a \$20.00 fee for all returned checks.
 - Applicants from outside the United States must contact the Marine Permit Office to determine acceptable forms of payment for application fees. U.S. Coast Guard License
- **Photograph:** Submit with your application a recent, clear passport size photograph of yourself, approximately 1 ½ x 2 inches. A photograph is not required if you are renewing from the preceding year.
- Applicants **under 16 years of age** must the application signed and notarized by a parent or legal quardian.
- If applying as a **corporate permit** (domestic corporation, domestic limited liability company, foreign business corporation, foreign LLC) or under an assumed name (DBA), provide the following:
 - Federal Tax ID on application or application
 - Legal documents establishing the corporation, LLC or DBA may include:
 - Certificate of Incorporation, Articles of Organization (LLC), Filing Receipt for Application of Authority for Foreign Businesses Operating in New York, or Certificate of Assumed Name (DBA).
 - Demonstrate the business is currently active and in good standing in New York State:
 - Refer to New York State Department of State's website for more information on obtaining copies of these documents: <u>www.dos.state.ny/corps/</u>.

All required documents and fees must be submitted by mail or in-person to DEC at the address below:

NYSDEC Marine Permit Office 123 Kings Park Blvd. Kings Park, NY, 11754

Phone: (631) 444-0470 | Email: MPO@dec.ny.gov

MARINE BAIT PERMITS: REQUIRED BUSINESS

The Purpose of this notice is to clarify the privileges conferred to the holders of Marine Bait Permit under Subdivision 9 of Environmental Conservation Law Section 13-0335.

- This law <u>allows</u> an operator of a retail business to take menhaden (bunker), spearing, and killies, and sell directly to the final user (generally a bait and tackle shop).
- It <u>does not allow</u> the holder of the marine bait permit to harvest baitfish to sell wholesale (to sell bait to retail shops for resale).

A commercial Food Fish License is required to harvest any fish for wholesale (resale) in New York State. To purchase fish from a Food Fish License holder, the purchaser must either be the final user or a Food Fish and Crustacea Dealer License Holder.

Only Atlantic menhaden, silversides (Minidia spp.) [sic] and killifish (Fundulus spp.) may be taken and using:

- o Cast nets not larger than twenty feet (20') in diameter
- o Seines not larger than thirty feet (30') in length or four feet (4') in depth
- o Lift nets not larger than sixteen square feet (16 ft²) or bait traps not more than thirty inches (30") in length

Marine bait permits must identify the business name and address of the single retail business at which the bait taken will be sold and are non-transferable. The holder of a marine bait fish permit must be present and always have the permit available for inspection.

BUSINESS NAME		PERMIT HOLDER NAME		
BUSINESS ADDRESS		PERMIT HOLDER ADDRESS		
BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER		PERMIT HOLDER PHONE NUMBER		
MARINE BAIT PERMIT #	EXPIRATION DATE	PERMIT HOLDER DATE OF BIR	RTH	
HAIR COLOR	EYE COLOR	HEIGHT	WEIGHT	
			11.11.651	
I hereby affirm under penalty of perjury that the information provided on this form is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. False statements are punishable as a Class A misdemeanor pursuant to Section 210.45 of the Penal Law. I, furthermore affirm that I am aware of the applicable Sections				
of the Environmental Conservation Law and the Official Compilations of Codes, Rules, and Regulations of the State of New York and fully understand				
them. I understand that violation of these laws and regulations may subject me to criminal and civil penalties including fine, imprisonment, revocation of license, or a combination of any of these penalties.				
or nochac, or a combination of any or these penalities.				
Applicant Signature			Date	
THIS BOX FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY				
	Authorizing Signature		Date	



Department of Environmental Conservation

Marine Resources Permit Office Nissequogue River State Park 123 Kings Park Boulevard Kings Park, New York 11754 Phone: (631) 444-0470

Phone: (631) 444-0470 Email: MPO@dec.ny.gov

Year 2023

Application for Marine Permits		January 5, 2023
		Corporation? Yes No For Corporate Applicants, Are you a Corporation in Good Standing? Yes No
		Country Issuing Taxpayer Id:
Applicant Name:		NYS Domicile? O Yes No
		Township:
Street:		County:
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		Taxpayer ID/SSN:
Country:	State: Zip Code:	Home Phone:
		Business Phone:
- Home Address (If different)		Fax Phone:
Street:		Email:
City:	State: Zip Code:	Physical Description (N/A if Corporation)
Country:		Date of Birth:
Other Address for Business or Facilit	ty Location	Gender: Male Female
Street:		Hair Color:
·		Eye Color:
Country:	State: Zip Code:	Height: Weight:
	Permit Year 2023	
		Permit Fee:\$50.00
Permit Type: Marine Bait	Company Name:	
Auth Rep Signed? Yes No		

The Department of Environmental Conservation (Department) periodically York's Freedom of Information Law (FOIL). The Department responds to so and Article 6-a (Personal Privacy Protection Law).	
DECLARATION OF DOMICILE for New York State Resident Permits an	d Licenses:
Pursuant to New York State law, I declare that I am domiciled within the principal place of abode within the State of New York immediately prior to place of abode for the duration of this permit and/or license. I understand domicile.	he time of filing this application and will continue to maintain such a
If my domicile should change, I will notify the Department within seven license if I am no longer domiciled within the State of New York. I affirm a business days, the Department may immediately institute revocation proce	nd understand that should I fail to notify the Department within seven
Applicant Signature	Date
AFFIRMATION: I hereby affirm under penalty of perjury that all of the information provide obtain this permit are true and accurate. I furthermore affirm that I am awa Conservation Law and the Official Compliations of Codes, Rules and Regulates laws and regulations may subject me to criminal and civil penalties in any of these penalties. I affirm and understand that any false statement made herein is punishar.	re of and understand the applicable sections of the Environmental lations of the State of New York. I understand that any violation of cluding fine, imprisonment, revocation of license, or a combination of liberase at Class A misdemeanor pursuant to Section 210.45 of the
Penal Law and the offering of a false instrument for filing is punishable as a	a felony pursuant to Section 175.35 of the Penal Law.
Applicant Signature	
Authorized Representative	

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION

Total Amount Due:

\$50.00