Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Hazardous Waste Site Classification

Inactive Hazardous Waste Disposal Site Classification

Five classifications for hazardous waste sites are specified in the Environmental Conservation Law:

Class 1 Site: Causing, or presenting an imminent danger of causing, irreversible or irreparable damage to the public health or the environment - immediate action is required.

Class 2 Site: Significant threat to the public health or environment - action required.

Class 3 Site: Does not present a significant threat to the environment or public health - action may be deferred.

Class 4 Site: Site properly closed - requires continued management.

Class 5 Site: Site properly closed - does not require continued management.

  • Contact for this Page
    Environmental Remediation
    625 Broadway
    Albany, NY 12233-7012
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions