2 NAAQS - NYS Dept. of Environmental Conservation

Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

40 CFR 51.1205(b) Report for Erie and Niagara Counties for the 2010 SO2 NAAQS


Notice is hereby given that the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) plans to submit the above referenced report to the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and is providing a 30-day period for the public to comment on the proposed report.

On June 2, 2010, EPA strengthened the primary (health based) SO2 National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) by establishing a new 1-hour standard at a level of 75 parts per billion (ppb).

EPA finalized the second round of designations for the 2010 primary SO2 NAAQS on July 12, 2016. In that final rule, EPA designated Erie and Niagara Counties in New York State as "unclassifiable/attainment" for the 2010 primary SO2 NAAQS based on an assessment and characterization of air quality performed using air dispersion modeling software, i.e., AERMOD, that analyzed actual emissions in the area surrounding Huntley (Erie County) and Somerset (Niagara County) generating stations, and other nearby sources which may have a potential impact in the area of analysis where maximum concentrations of SO2 are expected.

Pursuant to 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 51.1205(b), "For any area where modeling of actual SO2 emissions serve as the basis for designating such area as attainment for the 2010 SO2 NAAQS, the air agency shall submit an annual report to the EPA Regional Administrator by July 1 of each year ... that documents the annual SO2 emissions of each applicable source in each such area and provides an assessment of the cause of any emissions increase from the previous year."

DEC plans to submit "40 CFR 51.1205(b) Report; Erie and Niagara Counties; Sulfur Dioxide; 2010 National Ambient Air Quality Standard" to EPA as close to the July 1, 2018 deadline as possible. The final report is expected to satisfy the requirements of 40 CFR 51.1205(b) by demonstrating that Erie and Niagara Counties continue to attain the 2010 SO2 NAAQS and that no additional modeling is needed.

Written comments should be submitted by 5:00 p.m. on July 6, 2018 to:

Amanda Chudow
NYSDEC - Division of Air Resources
625 Broadway, 11th Floor
Albany, NY 12233-3251
e-mail: dar.sips@dec.ny.gov

Ms. Chudow can be reached at (518) 402-8396 with any questions regarding this proposed report, including requests for a hard copy.

40 CFR 51.1205(b) Report; Erie and Niagara Counties; Sulfur Dioxide; 2010 National Ambient Air Quality Standard; June 2018 (PDF) (153 KB, 8 pgs)