D E C banner
D E C banner


The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation has added a link to a translation service developed by Microsoft Inc., entitled Bing Translator, as a convenience to visitors to the DEC website who speak languages other than English.

Additional information can be found at DEC's Language Assistance Page.

Section 3.5: Native Frogs

[Adopted February 20, 2008]



§3.5 Native Frogs

3.5 Native frogs.

(a) "Definitions." For purposes of this section, "native frogs" shall mean all life stages, including eggs, of the following species: eastern spadefoot toad, eastern American toad, Fowler's toad, northern cricket frog, northern gray treefrog, northern spring peeper, western chorus frog, bullfrog, green frog, mink frog, wood frog, northern leopard frog, southern leopard frog, and pickerel frog.

(b) "Open season." June 15 to September 30 for all wildlife management units, except that:

(i) Leopard frogs shall not be taken in wildlife management units 1A, 1C or 2A.

(ii) Northern cricket frogs and eastern spadefoot toads shall not be taken in any area of the state.

(c) "Size limit." None.

(d) "Bag limit." None.

(e) "Hunting hours." Frogs may be taken at any time, except that no person shall use a gun to take frogs when hunting at night (sunset to sunrise).