D E C banner
D E C banner


The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation has added a link to a translation service developed by Microsoft Inc., entitled Bing Translator, as a convenience to visitors to the DEC website who speak languages other than English.

Additional information can be found at DEC's Language Assistance Page.

Part 191: Forest Fire Prevention

(Statutory authority: Environmental Conservation Law, §§ 1-0101, 3-0301, 9-0105, 9-1103, 9-1109, 19-0103, 19-0105, 19-0301, 19- 0303, 19-0305, 70-0707, 71-2103, 71-2105)

[page 1 of 1]



§191.1 Forest fire districts

The following counties or portions thereof, except cities and villages located therein, shall constitute forest fire districts pursuant to section 9-1109 of the Environmental Conservation Law:

a. Albany County. Towns of Berne, Knox, Rensselaerville and Westerlo.

b. Allegany County.

c. Broome County.

d. Cattaraugus County.

e.Cayuga County. Towns of Locke, Moravia, Niles, Sempronius and Summerhill.

f.Chautauqua County. Towns of Arkwright, Busti, Carroll, Charlotte, Chautauqua, Cherry Creek, Clymer, Ellery, Ellicott, Ellington, French Creek, Gerry, Harmony, Kiantone, Mina, North Harmony, Poland, Sherman, Stockton, Villenova and Westfield.

g. Chemung County.

h. Chenango County.

i. Clinton County. Towns of Beekmantown, Chazy, Champlain, Cinton, Mooers, Peru, Plattsburgh and Schuyler Falls.

j. Columbia County.

k. Cortland County.

l. Delaware County. The entire county except the fire towns of Andes, Colchester, Hancock and Middletown.

m. Dutchess County.

n. Erie County. Towns of Colden, Collins, Concord, Holland and Sardinia.

o. Franklin County. Towns of Bangor, Bombay, Brandon, Dickinson, Malone and Moira.

p. Fulton County. Towns of Broadalbin, Ephratah, Johnstown, Oppenheim and Perth.

q. Greene County. The entire county except the fire towns of Hunter, Jewett, Lexington and Windham.

r. Herkimer County. The entire county except the fire towns of Ohio, Russia, Salisbury and Webb.

s. Jefferson County. Towns of Adams, Ellisburg, Lorraine, Rodman and Worth.

t. Lewis County. The entire county except the fire towns of Croghan, Diana, Greig, Lyonsdale and Watson.

u. Livingston County. Towns of North Dansville, Ossian, Sparta, Springwater and West Sparta.

v. Madison County. Towns of Brookfield, DeRuyter, Georgetown, Hamilton, Lebanon and Nelson.

w. Montgomery County. Towns of Charleston and Root.

x. Oneida County. Towns of Annsville, Ava, Boonville, Bridgewater, Camden, Florence, Lee, Sangerfield, Steuben, Vienna and Western.

y. Onondaga County. Town of Fabius.

z. Ontario County. Towns of Bristol, Canadice, Naples, Richmond and South Bristol.

aa. Orange County.

ab. Oswego County. Towns of Albion, Amboy, Boyleston, Constantia, Orwell, Redfield, Richland, Sandy Creek and Williamstown.

ac. Otsego County.

ad. Putnam County.

ae. Rensselaer County.

af. Rockland County. The entire county except the fire towns of Clare, Clifton, Colton, Fine, Hopkinton, Parishville, Piercefield and Pitcairn.

ag. St. Lawrence County.

ah. Saratoga County. The entire county except the fire towns of Corinth, Day, Edinburg and Hadley, but including that part of the City of Saratoga Springs outside the corporation tax limits.

ai. Schenectady County. Town of Duanesburg.

aj. Schoharie County.

ak. Schuyler County.

al. Steuben County.

am. Sullivan County. The entire county except the fire towns of Neversink and Rockland.

an. Tioga County.

ao. Tompkins County. Towns of Caroline, Danby, Dryden, Enfield, Groton, Ithaca, Lansing and Newfield.

ap. Ulster County. The entire county except the fire towns of Denning, Gardiner, Hardenburgh, Olive, Rochester, Shandaken, Shawangunk, Wawarsing and Woodstock.

aq. Washington County. The entire county except the fire towns of Dresden, Fort Ann and Putnam.

ar. Westchester County. Towns of Beford, Cortlandt, Greenburgh, Lewisboro, Mount Pleasant, New Castle, North Castle, North Salem, Ossinging, Pound Ridge, Sommers and Yorktown.

as. Wyoming County. Towns of Arcade and Java.

at. Yates County. Town of Italy, Jerusalem, Middlesex and Potter.

§191.2 Closing of forest lands because of fire hazards

No person, except when on official business or in cases of emergency, shall enter upon State-owned lands, or upon privately owned forest lands where the owner of said forest lands has consented to extend the application of subdivision 3 of section 9-0105 of the Environmental Conservation Law to said privately owned forest lands, after the department has determined that a serious fire hazard exists thereon.

§191.3 Payment for forest fire fighters and equipment

a. The following shall be the wages paid by the department to persons other than its regular employees who are employed by the department to suppress forest fires:

1. Fire warden--$3 per hour;

2. Foreman--$2.25 per hour;

3. Equipment operator--the rate paid for such work in the locality in which the person is employed to suppress the fire, as determined by the department;

4. Fire fighter--$1.75 per hour.

b. The owner of automotive equipment, aircraft or teams of horses hired to suppress forest fires shall be paid at a rate not to exceed that paid for such services in the locality in which such services are hired, as determined by the department.