Part 69: Hunting On Thousand Island State Parks
Statutory authority: Environmental Conservation Law, §§ 11-2101
- 69.0 Introduction
- 69.1 Where Waterfowl May be Taken
- 69.2 Permits
- 69.3 Regulations
- 69.4 General Provisions
The regulations governing hunting on certain of the Thousand Island State Parks in Jefferson and St. Lawrence Counties shall be as follows:
§69.1 Where Waterfowl May be Taken
(a) On Westcott Beach, Long Point, Burnham Point, Cedar Point, Grass Point, Canoe-Picnic Point, Wellesley Island, Kring Point, Cedar Island, Jacques Cartier, Croil Island and Galop Island State Parks, waterfowl may be taken only under permit from the department. Permits to hunt on these parks are required throughout the waterfowl hunting season.
(b) On Westcott Beach, Long Point, Burnham Point, Cedar Point, Grass Point, Wellesley Island, Kring Point and Jacques Cartier State Parks hunting is permitted only at established blinds and only by holders of a day-use permit, except that a seasonal permit holder may hunt from a blind unoccupied by a day-use permit holder. Hunting is prohibited at offshore locations within 600 feet of these blinds.
(c) On Canoe-Picnic Point, Cedar Island, Croil Island and Galop Island State Parks only a seasonal permit is required and hunting is not restricted to established blinds. On these parks no permittee shall erect a permanent blind, but portable blinds are permitted and dead vegetation may be used to supplement natural cover or portable blinds.
Only holders of a hunting license, hunting and fishing license or hunting and big game license, and a Federal duck stamp, shall be eligible for permits to hunt on these parks; provided, however, that persons not over 16 years of age may take migratory waterfowl without a Federal duck stamp.
(a) Day-use permits shall be issued for specific dates upon prior application to the extent of the sites available. No more than three persons may join in the same application.
(1) Applications for day-use permits may be made, during the 22 days immediately prior to as well as during the waterfowl season, in writing or in person at the office of the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation, Bureau of Wildlife, Box 84, Route 37, Theresa Road, Watertown, New York 13601. Applications must be received in the office at least eight days prior to the date of use. Successful applicants will be issued permits by mail prior to the date of use.
(2) An application shall include the name and address of each person (no more than three) to be included on the permit.
(3) A person to whom a day-use permit has been issued shall not be entitled to a second such permit until at least eight days have elapsed after the effective date thereof.
(b) Seasonal permits, each applicable to one individual only, shall be issued to persons who apply in the same manner as provided for day-use permits or who apply in person at the permit station on the Wilson Hill Wildlife Management Area west of Massena.
(a) A person holding a day-use permit, who cannot occupy his site on the date specified, shall notify the Bureau of Wildlife office at Watertown (Tel. 315- 782-2780) no later than 4:30 p.m. of the day before such date or lose his permit privilege for the remainder of the current season.
(b) A day-use permittee shall not occupy any blind other than the one designated on his permit, or occupy such blind on a day other than that specified, unless he does so as a seasonal permit holder and in accordance with the provisions of this order.
(c) Established blinds subject to day-use permit, not occupied by a day-use party prior to 8:00 a.m. prevailing time on any day, may be occupied by holders of seasonal permits on a first-come, first-served basis.
(d) A permittee must cary his permit at all times while occupying a waterfowl hunting site. Permits are not transferable.
(e) No more than three permittees may occupy a blind at the same time.
(f) Holders of day-use permits, upon completion of their hunt, shall fill out the attached hunter questionnaire and return both permit and questionnaire by mail or in person to the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation, Bureau of Wildlife, Box 84, Route 37, Theresa Road, Watertown, New York 13601.
(g) Holders of seasonal permits shall record all information requested on the hunter questionnaire provided and return both permit and questionnaire within five days after the close of the season to the address given in subdivision (f).
§69.4 General Provisions
The general provisions of the Environmental Conservation Law and of the rules and regulations of the department pertaining to the taking of migratory game birds shall apply to hunting on the areas covered by this part.