Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

For Release: Wednesday, November 21, 2012

DEC Extends Closures of Shellfishing Areas in Nassau and Suffolk Counties

The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) announced today that it has extended the closures of particular shellfish harvesting areas in Nassau and Suffolk Counties. These temporary closures are necessary to protect public health due to the adverse water quality effects of the coastal flooding and sewage treatment plant malfunctions caused by Hurricane Sandy. DEC initially implemented the shellfishing closures on Monday, October 29.

Effective at sunrise on Thursday, November 22, 2012, the following areas are designated as uncertified and the harvest of shellfish is temporarily prohibited through November 29, 2012:

Towns of Hempstead and Oyster Bay (south shore): All that area of Hempstead Bay, East Bay and South Oyster Bay and their tributaries.

Towns of Babylon and Islip: All that area of Great South Bay, including tributaries.

Town of Brookhaven (south shore): All that area of Great South Bay, including Nicoll Bay, Patchogue Bay, Bellport Bay and their tributaries.

Town of East Hampton: All that area of Accabonac Harbor and its tributaries within the Town of East Hampton.

This action was taken to protect the public health. Water samples that DEC recently collected and examined showed elevated fecal coliform levels in these areas. Fecal coliform bacteria are indicators of the likely presence of fecal material and bacteria and viruses that can cause illness in shellfish consumers. DEC will re-open these areas as soon as possible based on the results of water quality testing samples that it plans to collect and exam next week.

DEC has reopened many other bays and harbors around Long Island to shellfishing based on its testing of samples it has collected in those areas during the past three weeks. A recorded message advising harvesters of the status of these shellfish areas may be heard at (631) 444-0480. The message will be updated during the course of the temporary closures. If you would like a more detailed description of the closed areas please call the office during normal business hours at (631) 444-0475. Additionally, information about temporary closures is available on DEC's website.

  • Contact for this Page
  • Press Office - Lori Severino
    625 Broadway
    Albany, NY 12233-1016
    email us
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to Region 1