Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

For Release: Wednesday, May 4, 2016

DEC To Prepare Management Plan on Ontario Plains Unit Management Area

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) Acting Commissioner Basil Seggos today announced that the state is developing a unit management plan (UMP) for the 3,046 acre unit called Ontario Plains. The Unit is located in the Jefferson County Towns of Antwerp, Henderson, LeRay, and Theresa.

"These State Forests are by law dedicated to watershed protection, the production of forest products and offer many recreational opportunities, including: hiking, skiing, mountain biking, hunting, fishing, trapping, horseback riding and bird watching," said Acting Commissioner Basil Seggos. "This UMP will assess the natural and physical resources present within the Ontario Plains Area and will ensure sustainable management of the property for years to come."

The Ontario Plains Management Area is comprised of two State Forests and one unique management area. The list of State Forests are:

The unit contains 4.6 miles of foot trails, 3.8 miles of cross-country ski trails, 3.3 miles of mountain bike trails and 2.5 miles of equestrian trails. All providing opportunities for the outdoor enthusiast.

The first phase in the UMP preparation includes: developing a detailed map of the unit; inventory of resources (flora and fauna); mapping existing facilities and structures; and general recommendations for public use and future plans. Any individual or organization interested in providing comments or receiving additional information about the development of the management plan should contact Andrea Mercurio at NYSDEC, 7327 State Hwy 812, Lowville, New York 13367, (315) 376-3521 or e-mail

  • Contact for this Page
  • Andrea C. Pedrick
    317 Washington St.
    Watertown, NY 13601
    email us
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to Region 6