Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

For Release: Friday, March 25, 2016

DEC to Prepare Management Plan for Mohawk Vista State Lands

Public Comments Accepted Through May 2

Planning for the future management of more than 5,834 acres of state lands in the Mohawk Vista is underway, the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) announced today. The lands are located in the southern Oneida County towns of Sangerfield, Bridgewater and Marshall, and the southern Herkimer County towns of Schuyler, Stark, Herkimer, Frankfort, German Flatts, Columbia and Warren.

DEC is developing the Mohawk Vista Unit Management Plan (UMP) that will include plans for:

  • 5,359 acres in five State Forests;
    • Steuben Hill State Forest (Herkimer County)
    • Ohissa State Forest (Herkimer County)
    • Otsquago State Forest (Herkimer County)
    • Mt. Hunger State Forest (Oneida County)
    • A. J. Woodford Memorial State Forest (Oneida County)
  • 468 acres in four detached Forest Preserve parcels; and
  • One seven-acre parcel overseen by the Office of General Services.

DEC is seeking public comment regarding public recreation, long-term forest management, public recreation and other matters to assist in developing a long-range vision and goals for management of these lands which will be incorporated in the UMP.

In addition to public input, DEC will use forest inventories and other sources of data and information to develop the Mohawk Vista UMP. The UMP will guide management actions for the Unit to help achieve the goals of providing healthy, sustainable and biologically diverse forest ecosystems.

Comments may also be provided to Senior Forester Mary Kay Allen by mail at NYSDEC, 225 North Main Street, Herkimer, NY, 13350, by e-mail at or by phone at 315-866-6330. The deadline for comment is May 2, 2016.

  • Contact for this Page
  • DEC Region 5 Office - David Winchell
    1115 NYS Rte. 86
    P.O. Box 296
    Raybrook, NY 12977
    email us
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions