Shooting Preserve License
This license authorizes an individual to operate a commercial or private shooting preserve for hunting captive-bred game birds. Licensed individuals must be the owner or lessee of the facility premises.
- Class A (Commercial) License Fee: $200
- Class B (Private/Personal Use) License Fee: $60
What This License Allows:
Class A - Commercial:
- Operating a commercial or club membership shooting preserve on a minimum of 100 acres.Selling captive-bred game birds, dead or alive.
- Charging either a daily fee or a fee for each bird killed.
Class B - Private/Personal Use:
- Operating a private non-commercial shooting preserve that is limited to the licensee, relatives and invited guests. No minimum acreage required.
Both Class A & Class B:
- Shooting captive-bred birds from September 1- April 15, and in any method other than shooting during April 16 - August 31.
- Purchasing, transporting, rearing and releasing captive bred game-birds.
- Hunting on the preserve without a NYS hunting license.
What This License Does Not Allow:
- Releasing Canada geese, wild turkey and swan to the wild.
- Breeding domestic-game birds (requires a domestic game bird breeder license).
- Class B (Private/Personal Use) licensees only: no selling of live birds or carcasses.
Other Pertinent Information
The following captive-bred game birds can be purchased from a New York licensed domestic game bird breeder or other legal game bird breeder facility outside the state:
- Wild turkey
- Ruffed grouse
- Chukar partridge
- Hungarian partridge
- European gray‐legged partridge
How to Apply
- Get a copy of the Tax ID Map (from local Town Clerks Office).
- Total number of acres
- Surrounding/bordering roads or properties
- Complete and submit the Shooting Preserve License Application (PDF) (168KB)
- If leasing all or part of the land, you will need the landowner to complete and sign the "Lease Information" section of the application to indicate the duration and acreage of land being leased.
Renewing & Reporting
Licenses expire on April 15 every fifth year after the license was issued. A renewal form will be sent by mail prior to the license expiration date noted on the license. If a license renewal form is not received at least 2 weeks prior to the expiration date, please contact us.
- Complete the Annual Report and Continuous Record of Operations Form (PDF) (95KB) submit by April 15 each year. If applicable, this form includes a section for updating/amending lease information.
- Complete the Shooting Preserve License Initial Report (PDF) (133KB) and submit by September 1 each year.
Carcass Identification Form
A Carcass Identification Form (PDF) (107KB) is required to complete when any bird(s) or carcass(es) leave the licensed premises. This form must remain with the carcass(es) during transit and until the animal(s) is/are prepared for consumption.
Laws & Regulations
New York Codes Rules and Regulations (NYCRR)
The following links leave DEC website.
- Part 153: Preserve Licenses
- Part 154: Domestic Waterfowl
- Part 175: Special Licenses and Permits - Definitions and Uniform Procedures
Environmental Conservation Law (ECL)
The following links leave DEC website.
To find this law click on the link, click on ENV, find Article 11, click on the appropriate law.
- 11-2111: Posting; Service of Notice
- 11-1903: Shooting Preserves
- 11-0103(4)(a)(c): Fish and Wildlife Definitions
DEC Special Licenses Unit
Address: 625 Broadway, Albany NY 12233
Other Related or Similar Licenses
DEC also issues the following licenses for permitting fish or game preserves:
- Captive-bred white tailed deer license: authorizes individuals to breed captive white-tailed deer and operate a commercial or private deer hunting preserve.
- Fishing preserve license: authorizes an individual to operate a fishing facility on a privately-owned artificial or man-made waterbody of any size.