Marine Permits and Licenses
The last day to renew your 2016 Food Fish, Crab, Whelk, and Lobster permits is Friday, December 30, 2016.
Please note that the MPO will be closed on December 26, 2016 and January 2, 2017.
Commercial fishermen in New York are required by law to hold specific licenses or permits to conduct fishing activities. These licenses and permits are issued by the Marine Permit Office (MPO) in the Division of Marine Resources. A list of the licenses is available in the table below.
Some permits are no longer available as new permits and can only be renewed by current permit holders (lobster permits, for example).For other permits, applicants may need to meet specific qualifications before they can submit an application. Please refer to the list below for specific requirements for each license or permit.
There are other types of fishing activities that also require permits. The Lobster Resident Non-Commercial permit is needed to take and land lobsters in New York State (no more than 6 lobsters a day and only for personal use, no lobsters may be sold).
Lastly, owners and operators of party and charter boats (head boats, 6-packs) are required to hold a Party and Charter Boat license to carry recreational fishing passengers on vessels for hire.
General permit questions may be directed to the Marine Permit Office at 631-444-0470.
License/Permit Fees and Required Documents
|Shellfish Digger Resident Permit||$50||Proof of domicile in New York, Shellfish Supplementary Form|
|Shellfish Digger Non-Resident Permit||$150||Shellfish Supplementary Form|
|Shellfish Digger Endorsement (vessel 40 ft or less)||$50||Vessel registration or USCG documentation|
|Shellfish Digger Endorsement (vessel greater than 40 ft)||$100||Vessel registration or USCG documentation|
|Blue Mussel||None||Only issued to holders of a shellfish diggers permit.|
|Surfclam/Ocean Quahog||None||Only issued to holders of a shellfish diggers permit.|
|CLASS A - Shellfish Shipper||$300||HACCP training, HACCP plan, facility inspection and additional approvals from Shellfish Inspection Unit|
|CLASS B - Shellfish Processor||$600||HACCP training, HACCP plan, facility inspection and additional approvals from Shellfish Inspection Unit|
|CLASS C - Shellfish Reshipper||$200||HACCP training, HACCP plan, facility inspection and additional approvals from Shellfish Inspection Unit|
|CLASS D - Shellfish Digger/Shipper||$75|
|CLASS E - Bay Scallop Shucker-Packer||$50|
|Food Fishing Resident License (Limited Entry)||$250||For information on eligibility criteria for limited entry permits, please call 631-444-0455. Reporting required.|
|Food Fishing Non-Resident License (Limited Entry)||$1,250||May be obtained only in the month of January in any given year. Reporting required.|
|Food Fish Landing License||$500||Reporting required.|
|Marine Bait Permit||$50||Reporting required.|
|Food Fish and Crustacea Dealers and Shippers||$250||Dealer Status Form|
|Hudson River Marine Permit||Varies||Application for Hudson River Marine Permit (PDF, 84 KB).|
|Delaware River Eel Permit||Varies|
|Commercial Lobster Resident (Moratorium)||$150||No new permits available. Reporting required.|
|Commercial Lobster Non-Resident (Moratorium)||$225||No new permits available. Reporting required.|
|Lobster Landing Permit||$300||Reporting required.|
|Lobster Resident Non-Commercial||$10||Proof of domicile in New York. Reporting required.|
|Lobster Bait Gill Net||None||Only issued to holders of a lobster commercial permit. Reporting required.|
|Crab Resident (Limited Entry)||$30||For information on eligibility criteria for limited entry permits, please call 631-444-0455. Reporting required.|
|Crab Non-Resident (Limited Entry)||$50||For information on eligibility criteria for limited entry permits, please call 631-444-0455. Reporting required.|
|Horseshoe Crab Permit||None||Only issued to holders of a crab permit. Reporting required.|
|Whelk Resident (Limited Entry)||$30|
|Whelk Non-Resident (Limited Entry)||$50|
|30 Gross Tons or Less||$25||Reporting required.|
|More than 30 Gross Tons and less than 200 Gross Tons||$500||Reporting required.|
|More than 200 Gross Tons||$2,000||Reporting required.|
|Marine District Party and Charter Boat License* (Numerical Cap)||$250||Copy of Captain License and Vessel Registration or USCG Documentation needed for each year. USCG Certificate of Inspection may also be required.** Reporting required.|
*Numerical cap applies only to "6-pack" and less capacity party or charter boat licenses (OUPV).
**Party and Charter Boat License applicants who are licensed to carry more than six passengers and operate a vessel classified by the USCG as an Inspected Passenger Vessel must submit a copy of a valid USCG Certificate on Inspection for the vessel