Combination Hunter and Bowhunter Education
The combination course covers both the Hunter Education and Bowhunter Education requirements needed for purchasing licenses/privileges to hunt with a gun, muzzleloader, crossbow or bow for big game, small game, turkey, waterfowl and migratory game birds during open hunting seasons.
Register for a Combination Hunter and Bowhunter Education Course
The Combination Hunter and Bowhunter Education Course is offered as a "Home Study" option only, which requires homework to be completed prior to attending a field session led by an instructor.
|Course Type||Online Registration Link||Course Information|
|Home Study Course||Register for a Combination Hunter/Bowhunter Education Home Study Course
(link leaves DEC's website)
|Both parts listed below must be completed. Students should sign up and register for this type of course prior to starting the homework
It is important to register for a combination hunter/bowhunter education home study course before completing the homework portion. Combination hunter/bowhunter education home study courses are not offered in every county.
Part 1 - Complete the homework portion in one of two ways:
(will take at least 8 to 10 hours to complete).
- OR -
Part 2 - Attend field sessions led by an instructor.
You must attend all field sessions on the date(s) and at the location indicated on the course schedule listing. You must bring proof of the completed homework for both hunter and bowhunter education as noted in Part 1 above.
General Course Details and Requirements
Course Topics Covered
- Firearm and crossbow handling and safety techniques
- History of firearms
- Knowledge of firearms and ammunition
- Proper gun handling and storage
- Marksmanship fundamentals
- Specific laws and regulations
- Principles of wildlife management and wildlife identification
- Outdoor Safety
- Aspects that make bowhunting challenging
- Becoming a more successful bowhunter
- Tree stand safety
- Bowhunting techniques
- Hunter ethics
- Hunter responsibility toward wildlife, the environment, landowners and the general public
Students must be 11 years or older (Note: In New York State the minimum age to hunt is 12-years old).
Students ages 11 to 16-years old, must have a signed permission slip (PDF) (54 KB) from a parent or legal guardian to allow for the handling and shooting of a firearm during this course.
Minimum of 12 hours.
Hunter and Bowhunter Education Certificates
Students must attend all sessions of the course, demonstrate proper attitude and safety, and pass two final exams of 40 and 50 questions. After successful completion of the course, students will receive both a Hunter Education Certificate and Bowhunter Education Certificate of Qualification, which is required for purchasing a first-time hunting license and bowhunting license/privilege in New York State.