Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Delaware River Eel Permit

Currently, this license is limited to qualified renewing applicants and qualified new entrants only.

The Delaware River Eel license allows the license holder to take and land American eel from state waters of the Delaware River for commercial purposes.

License Details

Fee:

  • Residents: $20
  • Non-residents: $60

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 16 years old in age.

License Information

  • Application due by April 1.
  • Licenses issued: May 15; reporting requirements must be met for any previous license.
  • License valid: Issuance-November 30 of the application year.

How to Apply

Eel weir licenses are issued under limited entry qualifications. Please call 845-256-3199 for an application and more information.

Renewing & Reporting

License Renewal

A renewal form will be sent by mail prior to the permit expiration date. If a license renewal form is not received at least 2 weeks prior to the expiration date, please contact us at the address or phone number below.

Reporting

The license holder must submit vessel trip reports (VTRs) monthly to DEC (or NMFS in a federal permit holder).

Laws and Regulations

New York Environmental Conservation Law (ECL)

11-1501 Commercial Inland Fisheries (scroll down the list to find the link titled "ENV Environmental Conservation" to access the full text of the ECL)

New York Codes Rules and Regulations (6NYCRR)

Part 36: Gear and Operation of Gear (link leaves DEC's website)

Contact Information

Division of Marine Resources - Hudson River Fisheries Unit
21 South Putt Corners Road
New Paltz, New York 12561
Phone: 845-256-3199 or 845-256-3073


  • Contact for this Page
  • Division of Marine Resources
    205 North Belle Mead Road, Suite 1
    East Setuaket, New York 11733
    631-444-0470
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to NYS Marine Costal District