Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Special Harvest Programs

Summer Flounder Weekly Harvest Program

NYS Summer Flounder Permit Holders Only

Effective Tuesday, January 14, 2020, the summer flounder (fluke) weekly program is established with a weekly limit of 1,000 pounds.

The summer flounder weekly harvest program will run from January 14, 2020 through April 30, 2020, unless otherwise indicated.
The weekly limit is set at 1,000 pounds for registered participants.

Registered participants will be permitted to possess and land summer flounder in excess of the normal daily trip limit (140 pounds) up to 1,000 pounds in one trip or multiple trips, but in no event may a participant possess or land more than 1,000 pounds in a fishing week, Saturday through Friday.

Enroll in the Weekly Harvest Program

To participate in the summer flounder weekly harvest program, please complete the registration form (PDF) and return to: NYSDEC Commercial Quota Management Unit, 205 N. Belle Meade Rd., East Setauket, NY 11733

Please always keep a copy of the signed registration form onboard your vessel during the weekly harvest program in order to provide to NYSDEC Law Enforcement upon request.

The registration form outlines the following parameters of the program:

  • A vessel, or permittee, may not possess or land more than 1,000 pounds in any one fishing week. The fishing week for the summer flounder weekly program is Saturday through Friday.
  • Only one summer flounder permit holder per vessel is allowed.
  • A fishing vessel trip report (VTR) for any trips where more than the daily trip limit is taken must be submitted within 72 hours of landing.
  • Participants are permitted to offload summer flounder only during the hours of 6:00AM through 10:00PM.

Registered weekly harvest program participants are NOT required to submit a predeparture notice but MUST call NYSDEC Law Enforcement Dispatch at 631-444-0250 at least 2 hours prior to arrival at port for any landings in excess of the daily limit of 140 lbs.

Participants MUST report, "This is [NAME], on [FISHING VESSEL]. I am registered in the Summer Flounder Weekly Harvest Program. I will be landing approximately [number of pounds] of summer flounder at [PORT], at approximately [TIME, DATE]".

If you have any questions regarding the summer flounder weekly program or any other commercial fishing related questions, please call 631-444-5621 or 631-444-0482, or send an email to commercial.fisheries@dec.ny.gov.

NYS Cooperative Multi-State Possession and Landing Pilot Program for Summer Flounder

NYS Summer Flounder Permit Holders Who Participate in the Summer Flounder Weekly Harvest Program Only

The program will run February 3, 2020 through April 30, 2020, unless otherwise specified by DEC.

The program allows holders of a New York State summer flounder permit to possess onboard multiple trip limits of summer flounder intended for ports in cooperating states (CT, RI, and MA). Program participants may only land the trip limit allowed by the respective state's current regulations pursuant to 6 NYCRR subdivision 40.1(y). The program does not permit the landing of summer flounder in New York in excess of New York's weekly trip limit.

Enroll in the Cooperative Multi-State Possession and Landing Pilot Program for Summer Flounder

To participate in the program, please carefully read the program instructions, complete the application form (PDF) and return the original signed application form and supporting documentation to: NYSDEC Commercial Quota Management Unit, 205 N. Belle Meade Rd., East Setauket, NY 11733

Program Requirements:

  1. To be eligible to land summer flounder in New York State with a multi-state possession limit on board the vessel, the person shall have on board the vessel the Letter of Authorization (LOA) verifying their authorization to participate in the program from NYS and any cooperating state in which the license/permit holder plans to land the remainder of the multi-state possession limit.
  2. Program participants must strictly adhere to all applicable commercial fishing regulations, including the multi-state possession limit, as specified in 6 NYCRR Part 40, Marine Fish, and any applicable directives.
  3. Program participants must have no convictions or administrative penalties for violations of state commercial fishing regulations or laws within any cooperating state, or for violations of New York's commercial fishing regulations or laws, within the past three years and must be in compliance with commercial fishing reporting requirements as provided in 6 NYCRR 40.1(c)(1)(i).
  4. The summer flounder catch intended for landing in New York and any cooperating state(s) must be stored such that the catch intended for each state is physically separated; catch intended for each state must be stored in separate totes and identified with a written sign as to the intended port of landing.
  5. All landings of summer flounder in New York and any cooperating states must occur between the hours of 0600 - 2000 hrs.
  6. Program participants intending to land summer flounder in New York must call the DEC Division of Law Enforcement at least two hours prior to landing, and provide intended port and facility of landing, estimated time of landing, total weight of summer flounder to be landed in New York and other intended ports of landing and total weight for any summer flounder to be landed in cooperating states.

If you have any questions regarding the program or any other commercial fishing related questions, please call 631-444-5621 or 631-444-0482, or send an email to commercial.fisheries@dec.ny.gov.

Scup Weekly Program

Food Fish License Holders Only

Effective Saturday, June 15, 2019, the scup weekly program has ended.

  • Contact for this Page
  • Commercial Quota Management Unit
    205 N. Belle Mead Rd.
    E. Setauket, NY 11733
    631-444-5621
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to NYS Marine Costal District