Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Food Fish and Food Fish Landing License

NYSDEC Marine Permit Office (MPO) will begin issuing 2017 licenses and permits on Tuesday, November 15, 2016.
The last day to renew your 2016 Food Fish, Crab, Whelk, and Lobster permits is Friday, December 30, 2016.
Please note that the MPO will be closed on December 26, 2016 and January 2, 2017.

Food Fishing License

Currently, this license is limited to renewing applicants and qualified new entrants (within license limits set in law).

The Food Fishing License allows the license holder to take and land food fish harvested from state waters and to land food fish taken from waters outside the state for commercial purposes.

License Details

Fee

  • Residents: $250
  • Non-residents: $1,250

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 16 years old in age.

License Duration

Permit expires December 31 of each year. A person who possessed a food fish license in the previous year will be eligible to be issued a license in the current year.

How to Apply

Food fish licenses are issued under limited entry qualifications; please contact the Marine Permit Office at the phone number below for further information.

Renewing & Reporting

License Renewal

A renewal form will be sent by mail prior to the permit expiration date. If a license renewal form is not received at least 2 weeks prior to the expiration date, please contact us at the address or number below.

Reporting

The license holder must submit monthly vessel trip reports (VTRs) monthly to DEC (or NMFS, if a federal permit holder).

Laws & Regulations

New York Codes Rules and Regulations (NYCRR)

Part 40: Marine Fish (link leaves DEC website)

Environmental Conservation Law (ECL)

The following links leave DEC's website. To find a law click on the link, click on ENV, find Article 13, click on the appropriate law.

Other Related or Similar Licenses

  • Food Fish Landing License
  • Marine Bait Permit
  • Food Fish and Crustacea Dealer and Shipping Permit

Food Fish Landing License

The Food Fish Landing License allows the license holder to land food fish legally taken from waters outside the boundaries of New York State for commercial purposes. The Food Fishing license holder must observe New York State's size limits, trip limits and season status when landing food fish in New York.

License Details

Fee

$500

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 16 years old in age.

Permit Duration

Permit expires December 31 of each year.

How to Apply

  • You may contact the Marine Permit Office and request an application be mailed to you.
  • Complete the application and submit it and the license fee to the Marine Permit Office at the address below.

Renewing & Reporting

License Renewal

A renewal application will be sent by mail prior to the permit expiration date. If a license renewal form is not received at least 2 weeks prior to the expiration date, please contact us at the address or number below.

Reporting

The license holder must submit vessel trip reports (VTRs) monthly to DEC (or NMFS if a federal permit holder).

Laws & Regulations

New York Codes Rules and Regulations (NYCRR)

Part 40: Marine Fish (link leaves DEC website)

Environmental Conservation Law (ECL)

The following links leave DEC's website. To find a law click on the link, click on ENV, find Article 13, click on the appropriate law.

Other Related or Similar Licenses

  • Food Fishing License

Fishing Limits

Commercial harvest limits for quota managed species can be found at: Commercial Fishing Limits for Quota Managed Species

Quota managed species include:

  • Summer Flounder (Fluke)
  • Scup (Porgy)
  • Black Sea Bass
  • Striped Bass
  • Bluefish
  • Spiny Dogfish
  • Horseshoe Crab
  • Menhaden (Bunker)

Commercial harvest limits for other food fish species are available at: Commercial Fishing Regulations (link leaves DEC website)

Contact Information

Marine Permit Office - Division of Marine Resources
205 North Belle Mead Road, Suite 1
East Setauket, New York 11733
Phone: 631-444-0470
Email: MPO@dec.ny.gov


  • Important Links
  • PDF Help
  • For help with PDFs on this page, please call 631-444-0470.
  • Contact for this Page
  • Division of Marine Resources
    205 North Belle Mead Road, Suite 1
    East Setauket, New York 11733
    631-444-0470
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to NYS Marine Costal District