Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Oswego River Area of Concern

The Oswego River Area of Concern (AOC) is centered on the City of Oswego along the southeastern shore of Lake Ontario in New York. The AOC includes the harbor and the Oswego River up to the Varick power dam.

The Oswego River AOC was the first U.S. Area of Concern to be restored, or delisted. It was delisted in July 2006.

Restoring the Oswego River Area of Concern

The Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement outlines the process for restoring all Great Lakes Areas of Concern. The process involves developing a Remedial Action Plan to address Beneficial Use Impairments in each AOC. A Remedial Advisory Committee was established for each AOC to assist the restoration process.

Oswego River Remedial Action Plan

All Areas of Concern have a Remedial Action Plan that identifies specific problems and outlines the work needed to restore, or delist, the AOC. DEC took the lead in developing and implementing the Oswego River AOC Remedial Action Plan.

Remedial Action Plans are developed in three stages:

  • Stage I: The Oswego River Stage I RAP (PDF, 2.7 MB) identifies the specific problems, called Beneficial Use Impairments, and sources of pollution in the AOC. The Oswego Stage I RAP was completed in February 1990.

  • Stage II: The Oswego River Stage II RAP (PDF, 4.4 MB) lays out proposed restoration actions and a plan for implementing those actions. The Oswego Stage II RAP was completed in June 1991.

  • Stage III: The Oswego River Stage III RAP (PDF, 4.0 MB) documents that all Beneficial Use Impairments in the AOC are addressed and that the AOC is ready to be delisted. The Oswego River Stage III RAP was completed in April 2006 and the AOC was delisted in July 2006.

  • Important Links
  • Links Leaving DEC's Website
  • PDF Help
  • For help with PDFs on this page, please call 716-851-7220.
  • Contact for this Page
  • Great Lakes Program
    270 Michigan Avenue
    Buffalo, NY 14203
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to Great Lakes region