Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Certified CEHA Communities

Coastal communities with local CEHA ordinance laws need to complete the Local Coastal Erosion Management Program Annual Assessment Form (PDF, 622 KB). Save the form to your computer and open the form from your computer before you begin filling it out, otherwise information entered in the form will be lost.

If you live within one of the 42 certified communities, listed in the table below, contact your local building or zoning department for information on how to apply for a permit.

You need to obtain a coastal erosion hazard area permit before construction starts, in addition to any other permits required by your community's local ordinances.

DEC or other government agencies, such as Army Corps of Engineers, Department of State, or Office of General Services, may require other permits for the type or location of work you are planning.

Certified CEHA Communities
DEC Region County Community Name*
1 Nassau Atlantic Beach (V)
1 Nassau Bayville (V)
1 Nassau Glen Cove (C)
1 Nassau Hempstead (T)
1 Nassau Kings Point (V)
1 Nassau Lattingtown (V)
1 Nassau Sands Point (V)
1 Suffolk Babylon (T)
1 Suffolk Belle Terre (V)
1 Suffolk Brookhaven-N (T)
1 Suffolk Brookhaven-S (T)
1 Suffolk East Hampton (V)
1 Suffolk Huntington (T)
1 Suffolk Lloyd Harbor (V)
1 Suffolk Ocean Beach (V)
1 Suffolk Old Field (V)
1 Suffolk Port Jefferson (V)
1 Suffolk Quogue (V)
1 Suffolk Riverhead (T)
1 Suffolk Sagaponack (V)
1 Suffolk Saltaire (V)
1 Suffolk Shoreham (V)
1 Suffolk Southampton (T)
1 Suffolk Southampton (V)
1 Suffolk Southold (T)
1 Suffolk West Hampton Dunes (V)
1 Suffolk Westhampton Beach (V)
3 Westchester New Rochelle (C)
6 Jefferson Ellisburg (T)
7 Cayuga Sterling (T)
7 Oswego Oswego (C)
8 Monroe Greece (T)
8 Monroe Hamlin (T)
8 Monroe Rochester (C)
8 Orleans Kendall (T)
8 Orleans Yates (T)
8 Wayne Huron (T)
8 Wayne Sodus (T)
9 Chautauqua Dunkirk (T)
9 Chautauqua Sheridan (T)
9 Erie Hamburg (T)
9 Niagara Wilson (T)

*V= Village; C= County; T= Town

What are certified communities?

Certified communities oversee the CEHA permit application process and enforcement of regulated activities within coastal erosion hazard areas in their community. These communities have a local coastal erosion management ordinance, or local law, or other application of police power that the local government may use to enforce the regulated activities within a coastal erosion hazard area; the local programs meet the minimum standards of section 505.17 of 6 NYCRR Part 505. (link leaves DEC's website)

Certified Communities are required to submit an annual assessment

Local governments that administer their own Coastal Erosion Hazard Area Program are required to submit an annual assessment of their program to the Department's Coastal Erosion Management Section per 6 NYCRR Part 505.19. (link leaves DEC's website)

Coastal Erosion Hazard Area (CEHA) Community Annual Assessment Form

The Coastal Erosion Hazard Area (CEHA) Community Annual Assessment Form (PDF, 622 KB) may be completed and submitted online or printed and mailed to New York State Department of Environmental Conservation, Division of Water, Attention: Sue McCormick, P.E., Bureau of Flood Protection and Dam Safety, 4th Floor, 625 Broadway, Albany, NY 12233-3504. The Supplemental Regulated Activities Form (PDF, 602 KB) provides additional space for completing the regulated section of the Local CEHA Management Program Annual Assessment Form. Save the forms to your computer and open the forms from your computer before you begin filling them out, otherwise information entered in the forms will be lost.

Community Assistance Visits

The department assists certified communities with the administration of their local program. Communities can request assistance in their annual assessment form and the department will set up meeting with the community. The Department may also set-up meetings with local CEHA administrators assist communities with program administration, enforcement, or interpretation. The Department schedules assistance visits with every certified communities every 3 years.

  • Important Links
  • PDF Help
  • For help with PDFs on this page, please call 518-402-8185.
  • Contact for this Page
    Division of Water
    Bureau of Flood Protection and Dam Safety
    625 Broadway
    Albany, NY 12233-3504
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions