Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Major Drainage Basins - Large Image

New York State's hydrologic resources are geographically organized into 17 major drainage basins. These drainage basins are mapped and identified using the United States Geological Survey (USGS) eight-digit hydrologic unit code, or "huc code". These maps and associated codes provide a standardized base for use by water-resource organizations in locating, storing, retrieving, and exchanging hydrologic data. They are widely accepted for use in planning and describing water-use and related land-use activities.

View the map below in greater detail (PDF) (3.5 MB). After going to the larger map, use the zoom controls to enlarge the map further.

Image of major drainage basins in New York State
Major drainage basins of New York State