Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Ferris Lake Wild Forest - Draft Unit Management Plan

The Ferris Lake Wild Forest consists of 147,454 acres of State Forest Preserve lands located on the southwestern edge of the Adirondacks in the Towns of Salisbury and Ohio in Herkimer County; the Towns of Morehouse and Arietta in Hamilton County; and the Towns of Stratford, Caroga, Oppenheim, and Ephratah in Fulton County. The unit is roughly bounded on the north and west by Route 8, on the east by Route 10, and on the south by the Adirondack Park "Blue-Line."

For a description of recreational opportunities in the unit, please visit the Ferris Lake Wild Forest recreation page.

Status of the UMP

The Department is currently developing a Draft UMP for public review and comment. If you have questions or comments about the UMP process, please email us at:

  • Important Links
  • PDF Help
  • For help with PDFs on this page, please call 518-473-9518.
  • Contact for this Page
    Lands and Forests
    Forest Preserve Mgmt
    625 Broadway FL 5
    Albany NY 12233
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to Adirondacks region