D E C banner
D E C banner


The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation has added a link to a translation service developed by Microsoft Inc., entitled Bing Translator, as a convenience to visitors to the DEC website who speak languages other than English.

Additional information can be found at DEC's Language Assistance Page.

Helderbergs Management Area

The Helderbergs Management Unit is located in the Towns of Berne, Rensselaerville, Knox, and Coeymans in Albany County, and the Town of Broome in Schoharie County. Most of the Unit is in Albany County, just east of the Albany/Schoharie County line. The Unit lies 20-25 miles west-southwest of the City of Albany. The Helderbergs form a readily recognized escarpment extending north from the Catskill Mountains. The Hudson Valley is to the east of the Helderbergs, the Mohawk Valley to the north.

Three wildlife management areas and three State forests comprise the Unit. They are:

  • Partridge Run Wildlife Management Area
  • Louise Keir Wildlife Management Area
  • Margaret Burke Wildlife Management Area
  • Albany RA #1 - Partridge Run State Forest
  • Albany RA # 3 - Cole Hill State Forest
  • Albany-Schoharie RA #1 - Rensselaerville State Forest

Helderbergs Unit Management Plan:

Entire Plan (PDF, 200 KB)