Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Silver Lake Wilderness - Unit Management Plan

The Silver Lake Wilderness is a 106,770 acre management unit located in the Towns of Lake Pleasant, Benson, Hope, Wells and Arietta in Hamilton County. The unit is comprised of the Forest Preserve lands in three distinct, but interrelated units: (1) the Silver Lake Wilderness, (2) the Sacandaga Primitive Area, and (3) the Cathead Mountain Primitive Area.

For a description of recreational opportunities in the unit, please visit the Silver Lake Wilderness recreation page.

Status of the UMP

The Department adopted a Unit Management Plan (UMP) for the Silver Lake Wilderness in 2006. If you have questions about the UMP, please e-mail us at:

Download the UMP

Silver Lake Wilderness Area Unit Management Plan - PDF (8.77 MB)