Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Nine Mile Swamp Unit

This Unit is located in the Towns of Carrollton, Allegany, and Great Valley in Cattaraugus County. The lands are situated north of State Route 417, east of State Route 219, south of County Route 18, and west of County Route 19. The unit is made up of two State Forests: Windfall Creek and Nine Mile Creek, with a total of 4,307 acres.

These lands lie within the only area of New York State that was not covered by ice at any point during the glacial period. Being unglaciated, the soils' characteristics are influenced most strongly by the underlying bedrock.

If you have questions and/or comments about this UMP, please email us at:

Nine Mile UMP (PDF) (221 KB)