Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Hewitt-Cayuga Highlands Unit Management Plan

The Hewitt-Cayuga Management Unit is located within the towns of Summerhill, Sempronius, Moravia, Locke, and Niles in Cayuga County, and the town of Scott in Cortland County. The Unit Management Plan (UMP) includes the following State properties: Carpenter Falls Unique Area, Bear Swamp State Forest, Summerhill State Forest, Frozen Ocean State Forest, and Hewitt State Forest. The UMP was developed to address management activities on these state properties.

It is the policy of DEC to manage State lands for multiple benefits to serve the people of New York State. The proposed UMP will help maintain healthy, sustainable, and biologically diverse ecosystems for fish and wildlife while providing continued opportunities for forest product sales, recreational use and environmental education. The state lands covered by the proposed plan currently offer many recreational opportunities including: nature observation, fishing, hunting, trapping, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, snowmobiling, and camping.

Hewitt-Cayuga Highlands Unit Management Plan

Hewitt-Cayuga Highlands UMP Part 1 (PDF, 3.7 mB)

Hewitt-Cayuga Highlands UMP Part 2 (PDF, 7.8 mB)

  • PDF Help
  • For help with PDFs on this page, please call 315-426-7403.
  • Contact for this Page
  • Lands and Forests, Region 7
    Cortland Sub-office
    1285 Fisher Ave.
    Cortland, NY 13045
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to Region 7