Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Ontario Plains Unit Mangement Plan

Status of the Unit Management Plan

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) is developing a Unit Management Plan (UMP) for the 3,046 acre unit called Ontario Plains. The Unit is located in the Jefferson County Towns of Antwerp, Henderson, LeRay, and Theresa. These State Forests are by law dedicated to watershed protection, the production of forest products and offer many recreational opportunities, including: hiking, skiing, mountain biking, hunting, fishing, trapping, horseback riding and bird watching. The UMP will assess the natural and physical resources present within the Ontario Plains area and will ensure sustainable management of the property for years to come.

The Ontario Plains Management Area is comprised of two State Forests (SF) and one unique management area. The list of Forests are: Coyote Flats SF - 553 acres; Pulpit Rock SF - 1603 acres; and Henderson Shores Unique Area - 890 acres. The unit contains 4.6 miles of foot trails, 3.8 miles of cross-country ski trails, 3.3 miles of mountain bike trails and 2.5 miles of equestrian trails.

The first phase in the UMP preparation includes: developing a detailed map of the unit; inventory of resources (flora and fauna); mapping existing facilities and structures; and general recommendations for public use and future plans.

View the Ontario Plains Unit Management Area (PDF 2.6 MB)

Any individual or organization interested in providing comments or receiving additional information about the development of the management plan should contact Andrea Mercurio at NYSDEC, 7327, State Highway 812 Lowville, NY 13367, (315) 376-3521 or email