Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Mohawk Vista UMP

The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) is requesting public input on a draft Unit Management Plan (UMP) for the Mohawk Vista. The area is made up of five state forests: A. J. Woodford Memorial State Forest, Steuben Hill State Forest, Mt. Hunger State Forest, Ohissa State Forest, and Otsquago State Forest, as well as five detached parcels of forest preserve in southern Oneida and Herkimer counties.

The UMP will guide future management of these state lands over the next decade. The proposed plan calls for major road improvements to provide for increased access to Mt. Hunger State Forest and mapping of 13 miles of mountain bike trails, as well as refurbishing two shallow ponds that serve as popular fishing spots on A. J. Woodford State Forest. DEC will accept public input on the draft UMP at an open house on April 11, 2017 from 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., at the following location:

Town of Bridgewater Public Meeting Room
Town of Bridgewater Municipal Building
404 State Route 8
Bridgewater, NY 13313

In addition to the open house, public comments can be submitted by mail or email to:

Senior Forester Mary Kay Allen
225 North Main Street
Herkimer, NY 13350

All comments must be received by May 25, 2017.

Draft Documents