Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

List of Climate Smart Communities

New York State's Climate Partners

By adopting the Climate Smart Communities Pledge, 213 New York communities (comprising 35 percent of the state's population) have partnered with their state government to build a resilient, low-emission future.

Each of the local governments listed below have passed the Climate Smart Communities Pledge as a municipal resolution. The list of member municipalities is organized alphabetically by county. Climate Smart Communities that have achieved certification are in bold. Send us your CSC Pledge to get listed and join this network of climate leaders!

Note: All of the following links leave the DEC web site.

Albany County: City of Albany (Certified); County of Albany; City of Cohoes; City of Watervliet (Certified); Town of Bethlehem; Town of Colonie; Town of Knox; Village of Green Island

Allegany County: Town of Rushford

Broome County: City of Binghamton; Village of Whitney Point

Cattaraugus County: Town of Lyndon

Cayuga County: City of Auburn; Town of Montezuma; Town of Niles; Town of Owasco; Village of Moravia

Chemung County: Town of Big Flats; Village of Van Etten

Columbia County: Town of Ancram, Town of Austerlitz, Town of Chatham; Town of Copake; Town of Ghent; Town of Hillsdale; Town of Kinderhook; Village of Kinderhook

Cortland County: City of Cortland; Town of Preble

Delaware County: Village of Delhi

Dutchess County: City of Beacon; Town of Dover; Town of Hyde Park; Town of LaGrange; Town of Red Hook; Town of Rhinebeck; Town of Wappinger; Village of Rhinebeck; Village of Tivoli; Village of Wappingers Falls

Erie County: County of Erie; Town of Amherst; Town of Brant; Town of Evans; Village of East Aurora; Village of Lancaster; Village of Springville

Essex County: County of Essex; Town of Lewis; Town of Schroon

Greene County: Town of Cairo; Town of Hunter; Town of Jewett; Village of Catskill

Hamilton County: County of Hamilton

Jefferson County: Village of West Carthage

Lewis County: Town of Diana, Village of Harrisville

Madison County: City of Oneida; County of Madison (Certified); Town of Cazenovia; Town of Eaton; Town of Hamilton; Village of Cazenovia; Village of Hamilton

Montgomery County: County of Montgomery

Monroe County: City of Rochester (Certified); Town of Brighton; Town of Irondequoit; Village of Brockport

Nassau County: City of Long Beach; Town of North Hempstead; Village of East Rockaway; Village of Great Neck Plaza; Village of Woodsburgh

Niagara County: Town of Lewiston; Town of Porter; Town of Royalton; Town of Somerset

Oneida County: City of Rome; City of Utica; Village of Boonville

Onondaga County: City of Syracuse; County of Onondaga; Town of DeWitt; Town of Elbridge; Town of Fabius; Town of Skaneateles; Village of Baldwinsville; Village of Fayetteville; Village of Jordan; Village of Minoa; Village of Skaneateles

Ontario County: City of Geneva; Town of Canandaigua; Town of Geneva; Village of Clifton Springs; Village of Victor

Orange County: County of Orange (Certified); Town of Woodbury; Village of Highland Falls; Village of Maybrook

Orleans County: Town of Clarendon

Oswego County: City of Oswego; County of Oswego; Town of Minetto; Town of Richland; Village of Pulaski

Otsego County: City of Oneonta; Town of Hartwick; Town of Otsego; Town of Richfield; Village of Cooperstown

Putnam County: Town of Philipstown

Rensselaer County: City of Rensselaer; City of Troy; Town of East Greenbush

Rockland County: County of Rockland; Town of Clarkstown; Town of Orangetown; Village of Montebello; Village of Haverstraw; Village of Nyack; Village of Piermont

Saint Lawrence County: City of Ogdensburg; Town of Potsdam; Village of Canton; Village of Norwood; Village of Potsdam

Saratoga County: City of Saratoga Springs; Town of Clifton Park

Schenectady County: City of Schenectady; County of Schenectady (Certified) ; Town of Niskayuna

Schoharie County: Village of Cobleskill

Seneca County: Town of Seneca Falls

Steuben County: Town of Campbell; Village of Bath

Suffolk County: County of Suffolk; Town of Babylon; Town of Brookhaven; Town of East Hampton (Certified); Town of Huntington; Town of Islip; Town of Smithtown; Town of Southampton (Certified); Village of Amityville; Village of Greenport; Village of Port Jefferson

Sullivan County: County of Sullivan (Certified) ; Town of Bethel; Town of Cochecton; Town of Delaware; Town of Highland; Town of Lumberland; Town of Tusten

Tompkins County: City of Ithaca (Certified); County of Tompkins (Certified); Town of Caroline; Town of Danby; Town of Dryden; Town of Ithaca (Certified); Town of Ulysses

Ulster County: County of Ulster (Bronze Certified); City of Kingston (Bronze Certified); Town of Esopus; Town of Gardiner; Town of Marbletown; Town of Olive; Town of New Paltz; Town of Rosendale; Town of Saugerties; Town of Shandaken; Town of Woodstock; Village of New Paltz

Warren County: City of Glens Falls; Town of Lake George; Village of Lake George

Wayne County: Town of Sodus; Town of Williamson; Village of Sodus

Westchester County: County of Westchester; City of New Rochelle; City of Peekskill; City of Rye; City of White Plains; City of Yonkers; Town of Bedford; Town of Cortlandt (Certified); Town of Greenburgh; Town of Lewisboro; Town of Mamaroneck (Certified); Town of New Castle; Town of North Castle; Town of North Salem; Town of Ossining; Town of Pound Ridge; Town of Rye; Town of Somers; Town of Yorktown; Village of Ardsley; Village of Dobbs Ferry (Bronze Certified); Village of Croton-on-Hudson; Village of Hastings-on-Hudson; Village of Irvington; Village of Larchmont; Village of Mamaroneck; Village of Mount Kisco; Village of Ossining; Village of Port Chester; Village of Rye Brook; Village of Tarrytown; Village of Sleepy Hollow

  • PDF Help
  • For help with PDFs on this page, please call 518-402-8448.
  • Contact for this Page
  • Office of Climate Change
    625 Broadway, 9th Floor
    Albany, NY 12233-1030
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions