D E C banner
D E C banner


The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation has added a link to a translation service developed by Microsoft Inc., entitled Bing Translator, as a convenience to visitors to the DEC website who speak languages other than English.

Additional information can be found at DEC's Language Assistance Page.

ENB - Region 7 Notices 2/20/2013

Public Notice

Public Meeting Notice

Hill and Hollow and Taylor Valley Draft Unit Management Plans

The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation's (NYS DEC) - Region 7 will hold a public meeting on Monday, March 11, 2013, from 6:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. in the gymnasium of the Hartnett Elementary School (part of Homer Central School District) located at Academy Street, Truxton, New York 13158 to accept public comments on two draft Unit Management Plans (UMPs); Hill and Hollow and Taylor Valley. Persons are invited to attend the meeting to express their ideas and opinions about the management objectives outlined in the draft plans. The public meeting will begin with an open house format, which will allow the public to provide written comments. There will also be an opportunity to offer verbal comments. Those unable to attend the meeting may submit comments to the contact person listed below. Copies of the plans are posted on the NYS DEC's website at: http://www.dec.ny.gov/lands/4979.html. The plans are also available, for public review, at the following locations:

  • NYS DEC - Region 7 Headquarters, 615 Erie Boulevard West, Syracuse
  • NYS DEC Region 7 Sub-Office, 1285 Fisher Avenue, Cortland
  • Peck Memorial Library, East Main Street, Marathon
  • Cortland Free Library, 32 Church Street, Cortland
  • Lamont Memorial Library, 5 East Main Street, McGraw
  • Kellogg Free Library, 5681 Telephone Road, Cincinnatus
  • DeRuyter Free Library, 735 Utica Street, DeRuyter
  • Tully Free Library, 12 State Street, Tully

Digital copies are available on compact discs from the Cortland office and may be requested by calling (607) 753-3095 extension 217.

Comments on the plans will be accepted until April 11, 2013.

The UMPs cover seven State Forests, one Unique Area and one Multiple-Use Area that encompass 17,613 acres. The Hill and Hollow UMP (7,346 acres) includes: Morgan Hill State Forest, Kettlebail State Forest and Labrador Hollow Unique Area. The Taylor Valley UMP (10,267 acres) includes: Taylor Valley State Forest, Hoxie Gorge State Forest, Baker School House State Forest, Donahue Woods State Forest, Gee Brook State Forest and Papish Pond Multiple-Use Area. The Draft UMPs have been developed to address management activities on these State Forests. The proposed UMPs will help maintain healthy, sustainable, and biologically diverse ecosystems for fish and wildlife and manage State forests providing continued opportunities for forest product sales, recreational use, environmental education and research.

The State lands covered by the proposed plans currently offer many recreational opportunities including hiking, hang gliding, camping, picnicking, nature observation, boating, fishing, hunting, trapping, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, and all terrain vehicle (ATV) access for people with mobility impairments. New or major changes to existing recreational facilities proposed in the plans include:

Hill and Hollow UMP

  • The construction of 10 to 15 miles of new single track mountain bike trails on Morgan Hill State Forest
  • The designation of the North Country National Scenic Trail on the unit as foot travel only (hiking, snowshoeing and skiing)
  • The construction of a 1.7 mile ATV trail expansion for people with accessibility needs on Morgan Hill State Forest
  • The construction of Tinker Falls sustainable trail project
  • The development of three universally designed campsites for people with accessibility needs
  • The designation of six to eight additional campsites on Morgan Hill State Forest
  • The installation of informational kiosks

Taylor Valley UMP

  • The construction of 5.3 miles of new hiking trail on Hoxie Gorge State Forest
  • The construction of three parking areas: one on Taylor Valley State Forest; one on Hoxie Gorge State Forest; and one on Papish Pond Multiple-Use Area
  • The construction of a 0.5 mile ATV trail loop expansion for people with accessibility needs on Hoxie Gorge State Forest
  • The construction of a lean-to on Taylor Valley State Forest
  • The designation six drive-up campsites, two of which will be upgraded to provide camping opportunities for people with disabilities on Taylor Valley State Forest and one drive-up site on Baker School House State Forest
  • The designation of four walk-in campsites, one at Papish Pond Multiple-Use Area and three on Gee Brook State Forest
  • The installation of informational kiosks

The UMPs also contain proposed maintenance projects for roads and boundary lines. A detailed schedule of other activities such as natural resource inventories.

The UMPS are located in the Towns of Cincinnatus, Cortlandville, Cuyler, Freetown, Solon, Taylor, Truxton, and Virgil in Cortland County, New York and the Town of Fabius in Onondaga County, New York.

Contact: Richard Pancoe, NYS DEC - Region 7 Cortland Sub Office, Division of Fish Wildlife and Marine Resources, 1285 Fisher Avenue, Cortland, NY 13045, Phone: (607) 753-3095 extension 217.

  • Contact for this Page
  • ENB
    Division of Environmental Permits
    625 Broadway, 4th Floor
    Albany, NY 12233-1750
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions