NY.gov Portal State Agency Listing Search all of NY.gov
D E C banner
D E C banner

ENB - Region 8 Notices 4/4/2012

Negative Declaration

Schuyler and Steuben Counties - The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (NYS DEC), as lead agency, has determined that the proposed Adoption of the Keuka Lowlands Unit Management Plan will not have a significant adverse environmental impact. The action involves the adoption of the Keuka Lowlands Unit Management Plan which will set forth the proposed goals, objectives, management actions and associated costs for the management of approximately 6,048 acres on five parcels of State land in Steuben and Schuyler Counties. The plan details management activities for a 10 year period. A review and update will take place at the end of the tenth year. Public participation has been sought via mailings. Full consideration for public input has been sought prior to completion of the final plan. Management activities planned for this unit include: general maintenance and improvement of facilities, public access to State land, managing the vegetation and wildlife, including the creation and maintenance of open fields and logging an average of 147 acres per year. Other activities include conversion of 45 acres of forest to grass and or brush, creation of small water hole amphibian activity centers, construction of parking lots on Moss Hill State Forest, Birdseye Hollow State Forest and Mt. Washington State Forest, improving parking as needed along the shoulders of existing roads, construction of access roads and a small boarding pier and oil and gas activities.

The Keuka Lowlands Unit comprises Birdseye Hollow State Forest in the Towns of Bath, Bradford, Wayne and Urban in Steuben County, New York; Moss Hill State Forest, in the Town of Bath in Steuben County, New York; Mt. Washington State Forest, in the Town of Bath in Steuben County, New York; Cold Brook Wildlife Management Area, in the Town of Urbana, in Steuben County, New York; and Waneta Lamoka Wildlife Management Area, in the Town of Tyrone, in Schuyler County, New York.

Contact: Gretchen Cicora, NYS DEC - Region 8 Bath Sub Office, Division of Lands & Forests, 7291 Coon Road, Bath, NY 14810 Phone: (607) 776-2165 extension 29.

  • Contact for this Page
  • ENB
    Division of Environmental Permits
    625 Broadway, 4th Floor
    Albany, NY 12233-1750
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions