D E C banner
D E C banner


The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation has added a link to a translation service developed by Microsoft Inc., entitled Bing Translator, as a convenience to visitors to the DEC website who speak languages other than English.

Additional information can be found at DEC's Language Assistance Page.

ENB Statewide Notices 5/11/2011

Notice of Complete Application

Applicant: Tennessee Gas Pipeline Company

1001 Louisiana St.
PO Box 2511
Houston, TX 77252-2511

Facility: Tennessee Gas Pipeline Rights of Way Along Gas Pipeline Right of Way
Various Cities across Six New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Regions
Application ID: 0-9999-00150/00001
Permits Applied for : Article 24 Freshwater Wetlands
Project is located: Several Counties throughout New York State (listed below)

Project Description:

Tennessee Gas Pipeline Company will reduce vegetation in State Freshwater wetlands along their gas pipeline rights of way throughout New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (NYS DEC) Regions 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, and 9 by applying the herbicides Accord and Aquaneat mixed with surfactants, and using both cut stump and foliar treatment techniques.

Wetlands are located in:

Albany County (Towns of Berne, Bethlehem, Knox, New Scotland), Cayuga County (Towns of Aurelius, Throop), Chautauqua County (Towns of Stockton, Westfield, Chautauqua, French Creek, Sherman), Columbia County (Towns of Canaan, New Lebanon), Erie County (Towns of Alden, Brant, Clarence, Marilla, Newstead, Wales), Herkimer County (Town of Warren), Madison County (Towns of Cazenovia, Nelson), Montgomery County (Town of Canajoharie), Niagara County (Towns of Lewiston, Lockport), Oneida County (Towns of Bridgewater, Sangerfield), Onondaga County (Towns of Lafayette, Marcellus, Pompey, Skaneateles), Ontario County (Towns of Canandaigua, East Bloomfield, Gorham, Hopewell, Phelps, West Bloomfield), Otsego County (Towns of Plainfield, Richfield, Springfield), Rensselaer County (Towns of Nassau, Schodack), Rockland County (Town of Orangetown), Schoharie County (Town of Carlisle), Seneca County (Town of Tyre, Waterloo, Junius), Steuben (Towns of Avoca, Howard, West Union), Wyoming County (Towns of Attica, Covington, Middlebury

Availability of Application Documents: Filed application documents, and NYS DEC draft permits where applicable, are available for inspection during normal business hours at the address of the contact person listed below and on line at: www.dec.ny.gov/permits/6061.html. In addition, the locations of the wetlands can be viewed at NYS DEC public website online, at www.dec.ny.gov/permits/6061.html.

SEQR Lead Agency: New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
State Historic Preservation Act (SHPA) Determination:

The proposed activity is not subject to review in accordance with SHPA. The permit type is exempt or the activity is being reviewed in accordance with federal historic preservation regulations.

NYS DEC Commissioner Policy 29, Environmental Justice and Permitting (CP-29):

It has been determined that the proposed action is not subject to CP-29.

Availability for Public Comment:

Comments on this project must be submitted in writing to the Contact Person no later than 5/26/2011 or 15 days after the publication date of this notice, whichever is later.

Contact Person:

Betsy R. Hohenstein
625 Broadway
Albany, NY 12233
(518) 402-9167

  • Contact for this Page
  • ENB
    Division of Environmental Permits
    625 Broadway, 4th Floor
    Albany, NY 12233-1750
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions