D E C banner
D E C banner


The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation has added a link to a translation service developed by Microsoft Inc., entitled Bing Translator, as a convenience to visitors to the DEC website who speak languages other than English.

Additional information can be found at DEC's Language Assistance Page.

ENB - Region 7 Notices 04/28/2010

Negative Declaration

Cayuga County - The Village of Cayuga, as lead agency, has determined that the proposed Town of Aurelius / Village of Cayuga - Joint Wastewater Treatment Plant (WWTP) and Sanitary Sewer System will not have a significant adverse environmental impact. The action is a joint effort with the Town of Aurelius to expand sewer collection service within the Village and Town and to improve the level of wastewater treatment provided. The joint project will provide sanitary sewer disposal and treatment service to approximately 3.8 miles of lakefront on Cayuga Lake and 0.8 miles of waterfront on the Seneca River. Public sewers will replace many residential septic systems that are in or near failure. The Village portion of the project includes the construction of a new WWTP, a new force main to the new plant and the construction of new low pressure sewers within the Village. The Town portion of the project (Lakeshore Sewer District) includes the construction of sewer collection facilities to the north and south of the Village of Cayuga. The new WWTP will be located on a 2.6 acre parcel between State Route 90 and River Road. The plant will be an activated sludge SBR treatment process, with influent screening & grit removal, UV effluent disinfection, aerobic sludge digested, sludge dewatering through the use of reed beds and plant effluent discharge to the Seneca River. The majority of the Town/Village sewer collection system will be pumped to the new WWTP via an upgraded pump station and 11,022 linear feet of 8 inch force main located along State Route 90 and River Road. Sanitary Sewer collection system expansions include new low pressure sewers in the Village along Manitau Road/Lake Street, Genesee Street and Court Street. The Town collection system includes three service areas - the South Service Area, River Road Service area, and NYS Route 90 Service Corridor. The project is located in the Village of Cayuga and the Town of Aurelius, New York.

Contact: Helen Day, Village of Cayuga, 6205 Railroad Street, Cayuga, NY 13034, Phone: (315) 252-1707.

Oswego County - The City of Oswego Common Council, as lead agency, has determined that the proposed West Side Sewer, Catch Basin Removal will not have a significant adverse environmental impact. The action involves storm sewer extensions to disconnect the illicitly connected catch basins from the sanitary sewers. The city is proposing to construct approximately 2,150 linear feet of storm sewer extensions in Erie, Hart, West Sixth, West Seventh and Fifth Avenue, in order to disconnect the catch basins from the overburdened sanitary sewer system. An additional 200 linear feet of sanitary sewer will need to be installed on West Sixth Street to reconnect some of the existing sewer services to the residents. The upgrade will eliminate excess storm water inflow from entering the sanitary sewer system, which is currenly being treated as sanitary sewage before it is ultimately discharged. Upon completion of the catch basis removals from the sanitary system, the storm water will be conveyed in the existing storm sewer system which ultimately discharges to Lake Ontario. All of the proposed work is to take place within public road right-of-ways in residential settings. Upon completion of the project, the site will be returned to preconstruction conditions. The project is located within the City of Oswego, New York.

Contact: Anthony A. Leotta, City of Oswego, City Hall, 13 West Oneida Street, Oswego, NY 13126, Phone: (315) 342-8154

  • Contact for this Page
  • ENB
    Division of Environmental Permits
    625 Broadway, 4th Floor
    Albany, NY 12233-1750
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions